Kernel Panics in FCP

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Pjotr28, Sep 20, 2013.

  1. Pjotr28 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #1
    Hi,

    Still have random system freezes and kp. After upgrading using a 2009 Mac Pro with upgrades CPU westmere 3.33ghz and a Mac edition GTX680. I tested the ram. In the crash report I read Fault CPU is the CPU the problem? Or something with FCP X?

    TIA

    Fri Sep 20 15:49:04 2013
    panic(cpu 0 caller 0xffffff800c2b8655): Kernel trap at 0xffffff7f8d5b6c66, type 14=page fault, registers:
    CR0: 0x0000000080010033, CR2: 0x000000000000722c, CR3: 0x0000000031dad041, CR4: 0x00000000000206e0
    RAX: 0x1ffffff028d1d638, RBX: 0xffffff81468eb2f8, RCX: 0x0000000000000138, RDX: 0x000000000bae1e08
    RSP: 0xffffff817372b830, RBP: 0xffffff817372b850, RSI: 0xffffff81468eb2f8, RDI: 0x0000000000000000
    R8: 0xffffff817372b5f0, R9: 0xffffff817372b5e8, R10: 0xffffff80405fa5e8, R11: 0x0000000000000206
    R12: 0xffffff803e0a1860, R13: 0xffffff803e0a1808, R14: 0x0000000000000000, R15: 0x0000000000000000
    RFL: 0x0000000000010a03, RIP: 0xffffff7f8d5b6c66, CS: 0x0000000000000008, SS: 0x0000000000000010
    Fault CR2: 0x000000000000722c, Error code: 0x0000000000000000, Fault CPU: 0x0

    ......
    BSD process name corresponding to current thread: Final Cut Pro
    Boot args: nvda_drv=1
     
  2. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #2
    Not enough info in this part of the log. Post whole KP log using
    Code:
     tag.
     
  3. Pjotr28 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #3
    Ok two next to each other. Thanks for the response. I'm very busy editing vid's in FCP X. Upgraded the Mac to get more speed but these shutdowns drive me crazy. Luckily FCP X don't need saves.

     
  4. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #4
    It's related to your video card/drivers. Check for an update of the Nvidia drivers and install that if one is available.
     
  5. Pjotr28 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #5
    Hi,

    Thanks, could be. After the panics I upgraded to 10.8.5. Then I got a message to upgrade the NVIDIA web driver. Fingers crossed.

    ps. Strange thing when the screen freezed. Audio kept playing for a couple of seconds. Then complete freeze...
     
  6. N19h7m4r3 macrumors 65816

    N19h7m4r3

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #6
    That's odd, I have similar crashes in iMovie. it happens constantly when trying to edit anything. Even just clicking on a project.

    I cleared my cache with OnyX, reverted from the NVIDA to OS X drivers, and did a PRAM reset.

    I'm using a GTX 660. So far it seems to have worked, I managed to export 1 vid. Although it was 7 minutes long, but took over an Hour to do. :(
     
  7. Pjotr28, Nov 1, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2013

    Pjotr28 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #7
    Hello again, Still having problems with a freezing Mac Pro. Sometimes a complete shut down and restart and sometimes a freeze of the desktop.

    - Have this problem with a pc gtx670 and a mac gtx680 (in both slot 1 and 2)
    - Took all drives out, did a fresh install of Mavericks on another drive problem occurred again.
    - In case of a CPU problem I completely redid the swap. Cleaned the CPU and reseated it again with new thermal paste
    - Strange thing now is that I can access the Mac Pro with another Mac. I can swap files but can't share the screen.
    - Disconnect the two displays. Put one on again. Now the mouse worked again. But I can't click. Shortly after that automatic shut down.
    - put the vid card in slot 1 and 2
    - cleaned dust
    - zapped the pram and did a complete reset

    So I'm out of ideas. Any one else?
     
  8. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #8
    PRAM reset should have switched you back to OSX default driver.

    See if psnic logs still list web driver as kext at issue
     
  9. Pjotr28 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #9
    I'll do that. I'm working on a project right now. Swapped the gtx for an old 4870 which is working fine up to now......

    I've read a lot of people using a GTX card with issues. A lack of enough power could be the issue. Then no other solution than to trade in the card for a sapphire 7950.
     
  10. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #10
    Use OS X driver as others said, esp. if you're working in FCP.
    From my tests of few Nvidia cards with both drivers arose that OS X driver is optimized for OpenCL, web one offers better CUDA and OpenGL performance.
     
  11. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #11
    I doubt very much that those GK 104s are drawing too much juice.

    They are basically incapable of drawing more than 225 Watts.

    The GTX285 draws more power, as do GTX570 and GTX 780 and I do not know if anyone claiming a power issue in OSX with any of them.
     
  12. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #12
    I had to over clock my GTX 680 considerably before it went over 200W.
     

Share This Page