Resolved Kernel panics

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by texascrazyhorse, Aug 27, 2014.

  1. texascrazyhorse, Aug 27, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2014

    texascrazyhorse macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Location:
    Texas
    #1
    Hello, as I told you before I upgraded my mbp late 2008 unibody to 8 gb of RAM and everything was well but when I opened chrome I had a kernel panic, and that has been happening all day yesterday and most of today.

    Emwhen I run onyx it tells me everything is fine, I check my memory and both memories appear to be OK, I even tried reinstalling mavericks and during the installation had a kernel panic that restarted my computer.

    Is there a way to fix this? I don't want to go back to running 4 gigs on my Mac :\

    Any help would be greatly appreciated
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Do you still have the old memory chips? Put them back in and see if the problem goes away and that will tell you if you got bad RAM. Quite the coincidence this started when you put in the new RAM.
     
  3. texascrazyhorse thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    I only have one, actually, a while ago I installed a 4gb chip into the computer and had the original 1gb chip.

    Yesterday I installed the additional 4 GB chip and took out the original 1gb chip.

    Both the chips that I installed are exactly the same brand and type (ddr3 1066).

    Right now I erased all my data (didn't have anything important) and am reinstalling osx Mavericks after a failed attempt to downgrade to snow leopard and its going well, no kernel panics. We'll see how this develops *crosses fingers*
     
  4. texascrazyhorse thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    Well, that didn't work, I left the computer downloading the additional files while I went to the store and when I come back I see the startup screen (the one you get when you hit command r) meaning it restarted again...

    Guess I'll leave my computer at 5 GB *sob* :(
     
  5. texascrazyhorse thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    Problem solved, what I had was a faulty memory chip, I uninstalled and ran everything perfectly. I might stay on Mountain Lion or Snow Leopard for now on and live happily ever after lol
     

Share This Page