Key Code problem in COD4

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by ollyclio, Dec 16, 2008.

  1. ollyclio macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Location:
    Gloucester, uk
    #1
    hi, i have bought a pucker copy of COD4 when it came out and ive been playing it fine online today up until 2 mins ago when it pops up with key code in use.
    Now i cant play online :(

    Does anyone know if that latest attack effects mac's? ive not clicked on any funny emails and just use safari.
    Any ideas??

    cheers
     
  2. iOrlando macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #2
    I'm trying to diagnose the situation here.

    so you are using a copied version of the game...and are now being required to put in the keycode (which you dont have since you didnt buy the game).
     
  3. ollyclio thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Location:
    Gloucester, uk
    #3
    no no ive bought the game from a shop, no naughtyness here, ha

    and its been working fine, until a hour or so ago and now i cant get on cos it says key cd in use :(
     
  4. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #4
    Contact support. They would ask for your proof of purchase and probably do something about it.
     
  5. dunny macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Location:
    Kanata
    #5
    Ive continuously had the same problem. strangely enough, only at night... i cant help but think that someone used a keygen and got the same serial as me... my version is legit, bought it from game agent.

    Ive been in contact with aspyr's support, and not one suggestion has been able to help.

    As far as Im concerned too, its a bull**** issue, paid like $70 for the game with CDN exchange and with two babies and work, I only get a little window here and there to escape and play for half an hr.

    Ive upgraded to 1.7, installed, reinstalled, uninstalled 1.5 back to 1.7, verified serial, blah blah and problem persists.

    Here were some of the useless suggestions that I received from Aspyr:

    Thank you for contacting Aspyr Tech Support!

    Be sure that your computer is not behind a software or hardware firewall of any kind. This includes firewalls built into routers or other equipment. Aspyr does not support the use of our games from behind a firewall. If it is not possible to disable the firewall you will need to open the ports for Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. Call of Duty 4 transmits and receives network traffic on port 28960 (UDP/TCP). The exact details on opening a port is specific to your firewall. For more information check with the firewall documentation or manufacturer.

    Another common cause of problems is a poorly configured router or connection sharing solution. If you are using a router, ICS, NAT or a software gateway you may have problems playing on the internet. This is because the router may not be forwarding the correct information back to your machine. It may be possible to get around this problem using port forwarding or DMZ. You can find more information on configuring shared connections for multiplayer gaming at www.practicallynetworked.com (most of this info is written for PC). Please be aware that like a firewall we cannot actively support using shared connections to play online.

    The most common cause of problems though is usually the simplest - an overburdened network stack. By default many computers have protocols the average person doesn't use; things like VPN or NDISWAN. You may want to contact your ISP to find out exactly which protocols you can safely remove. Often times network game problems are resolved by something as simple as removing unused adapters and protocols.

    The problem may also be related to the status of your ISP or that of the server. Due to the dynamic nature of the internet and the variable levels of traffic, it is impossible to completely eliminate this error. If you are having persistent problems you may wish to try a different server, or just wait and play a little while later.

    Aspyr Tech Support
     
  6. Thraun macrumors regular

    Thraun

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    Abbotsford, BC
    #6
    My guess is the same, that somebody somehow used a keygen or something similar to acquire the same serial as you, especially since it seems you can get on sometimes, which is probably just when the little thief isn't playing. Can you get Aspyr on the phone? Email customer support is BS. Aspyr pisses me off to begin with anyways. Poor Mac ports and poor customer support.
     
  7. donga macrumors 6502a

    donga

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Location:
    AZ
    #7
    solution

    i know this is an old thread but this happened to me today and a quick google search found a fix:

     
  8. Yeshua.Johin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    #8
    The Problem to this solution

    Well as you all know video games can be downloaded illegally via torrents, and unfortunately CoD4 has undergone this problem. The thing is the idiot who started leaking CoD4 Cracked on the torrent sites gave out the Same CD Key to all the people. SO all these people who have CoD4 cracked have the same CD Key! So all you legit users have your CD Key stolen because of this problem. The ONLY thing you can do is wait until the other person using your CD key finishes. I have no idea what The company is going to do about this, but as far as I know there is no real solution but to wait.
     
  9. Celticsun macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    #9
    I get this problem only if I have been knocked out of a server, for the next 5 mins the server may think you are still connected as it wasn't a clean disconnection, in which case technically your key is still being used.

    I usually reboot the modem to make sure the connection is properley severed and by the time it comes back up I can get in again.
     
  10. kingtj macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Location:
    Brunswick, MD
    #10
    Sometimes that's true, but ....

    I had a big problem for 2 or 3 weeks in a row where I could barely ever play my purchased copy of CoD 4 online, because it was constantly telling me my key was in use. People are definitely using keys made with a key-generator (or alternately, copied from originals in a retail boxed version that they managed to open up and re-seal).

    A while back, before our local CompUSA stores closed, I saw a lot of this going on. Most Mac titles like UT2004 on their shelves had obviously been opened before. (The little transparent circular sticker they use to seal the top and bottom flaps of the cardboard boxes had obviously been peeled back and re-stuck.)


     
  11. Rich1963 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #11
    I hate to be the font of negativity, but I doubt they'll do anything about it. For years game developers have hated the resale market (ditto RIAA and MPAA and ESA) because it's a sale they are cut out of (pesky first sale doctrine). They are probably just shrugging their shoulders and thinking "oh well. You should have bought a new copy". Gotta love DRM. Only hurts the honest people (like me).
     

Share This Page