keyboard and mouse via hub for Macbook?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by wannabeartist, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. wannabeartist macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Location:
    Finland
    #1
    Hi all,

    Is it possible/safe to connect usb keyboard and mouse via an usb hub to a Macbook? I have an older model: 5,2.

    Does it matter if the hub is powered or not? Anything else that should be considered?

    Thanks!
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    As mouse and keyboard are low power devices, a passive hub will work for both devices.
     
  3. wannabeartist thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    Thanks,

    Ok, so there's no risk of breaking anything, then (I guess not if I buy a non-powered hub)? - I'm just asking, because I read somewhere that someone fried his iMac with a "wrong" kind of hub...
     
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
    I used passive USB hubs before with my Macs and had no problems. I actually never used an active hub before, only with work machines where the computer was in another room than the monitors and input devices.

    I would like to know, how one can fry an iMac with such low voltage/ampere devices like a passive hub. USB 2.0 uses a maximum of 5.25 V and 100 mA, not very much to fry a whole Mac.
     
  5. wannabeartist thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    It sounds pretty weird to me also, but here's where I read about it - actually I just browsed through, I didn't really read all of it...

    I just though, I'd better ask because I'm such a n00b with Macs :)
     
  6. pvmacguy macrumors 65816

    pvmacguy

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Location:
    Jax
    #6
    It sounds like that guy was having a case of operator error. He obviously didn't know much about macs.

    You shouldn't worry, I used a 7 port powered belkin up on a MacBook air for months and it worked our just fine!
     
  7. wannabeartist thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    Thanks for the reply!

    I was quick, I went and bought one (Belkin, 4 ports) in the meantime and indeed it works just fine. Although I could do without the annoying blue led on it :D
     

Share This Page