Keyboard doesn't work when installing

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by DJMastaWes, May 12, 2007.

  1. DJMastaWes macrumors 65816

    DJMastaWes

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #1
    Hey guys. So, I wanna install windows on my macbook pro. When I boot the XP disc, I get a blue screen, with a bunch of things loading at the bottom. When it comes time to "Press enter to insall windows, Press R to repair or Press F3 to skip installation" my keyboard doesn't work, and I can't press enter.
    What's going on here, what can I do?

    Also, what can I do to make sure I install it correctly. I've read some storied about like, being locked out of OSX.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    Is it a wireless keyboard? You need a conventional wired keyboard to install.
     
  3. DJMastaWes thread starter macrumors 65816

    DJMastaWes

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #3
    No, just the Macbook Pro keyboard.

    So, you're saying I need a wired keyboard to insall windows?
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    If it's a MacBook Pro the keyboard is wired by definition. OK, someone else got an idea?


    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=303701
     
  5. princigalli macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Location:
    Rome, Paris, Berlin
    #5
    no keyboard when installing Windows

    I'm also on a Macbook Pro and having the same issues. This is a serious and widespread problem and I can't find a solution anywhere. It might be a problem with some specific versions of Windows but there's no way to know until you experience it.

    As far as I cna tell Apple is ignoring the issue. They can hide behind the "beta" definition and don't have to get it working. But for those of us that got a Mac knowing they could run a specific Windows program on bootcamp, this is close to a rip off. In any case their marketing is misleading unless the system works.

    The only company that seems to be serious about running Windows on Mac is Parallels. I wish they wrote Bootcamp instead of Apple!
     
  6. dcains macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    #6
    Did you click your mouse over the XP install window? That worked on my MBP.
     
  7. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    Are you using Boot Camp, VMware or ||s? If it's Boot Camp, do you have Service Pack 2?
     
  8. e²Studios macrumors 68020

    e²Studios

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #8
    Not that this will help any, but my Apple BT keyboard worked perfectly fine through all of the install of Vista Ultimate for me.

    Ed
     

Share This Page