Keyboard short cut questions

Discussion in 'macOS' started by CanadianDonkey, May 9, 2008.

  1. CanadianDonkey macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #1
    Hello.

    I'm wondering if theres a hot key combination that allows me to switch between windows of a similar program?

    Kind of like how cmd+tab allows me to swtich between firefox, azurus, itunes, ect. is there one that will allow me to switch between my open txt files?
     
  2. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #2
    cmd + ~

    the one to the immediate right of the left shift key.

    ;)
     
  3. henchosbandito macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Location:
    Somewhere between 10 and 11
    #3
    would it be an idea for people to open this up to as many shortcuts as people know. Im still a fairly new mac user and only know a couple:

    command + c = copy
    command + v = paste
    command + space = open spotlight

    just a thought
     
  4. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #4
  5. covertsurfer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    #5
    Hi, I'm another switcher getting used to the shortcuts.

    In the provided link is that up to date because F12 does not bring up dashboard for me you have to press FN+F12.
     
  6. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #6
    If you scroll down towards the bottom of the page, there are some notes about how the FN keys are mapped differently for laptops, and even differently among generations of laptops. Consistently inconsistent. :confused:
     
  7. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #7
    untick "Use all F1, F2, etc. keys as standard function keys" in Keyboard & Mouse preferences.
     
  8. henchosbandito macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Location:
    Somewhere between 10 and 11
    #8
  9. covertsurfer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    #9
    I'm using Leopard 10.5.2 on a new 3.06Ghz iMac not a laptop, is this still applicable? (I'm not at my Mac at the moment)
     
  10. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #10
    Dashboard is now F4 on the new keyboards signified by the gauge icon. if you want to use the F keys as normal function keys for some professional apps instead of using the brightness, dashboard and media functions then enable this setting.
     

Share This Page