keyboard shprtcut for the Green '+' button?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Sceneshifter, Jan 5, 2008.

  1. Sceneshifter macrumors 6502

    Sceneshifter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    #1
    I can't seem to find it, and am desperately looking for it, I use the green button a lot now since I got used to the idea of it, and now prefer it over the maximize button in windows. Only, it's a pain to have to aim for the green button all the time with my mouse, does anyone know the shortcut or a way to make a shortcut for it?

    Thanks!

    Ps: I use quicksilver, perhaps they offer the ability somehow?
     
  2. TheStu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #2
    System Preferences -> Keyboard & Mouse -> Keyboard Shortcuts -> The little plus box below the shortcut list -> "All Applications" , "Zoom" , <Insert Keystroke of your choice here>

    I personally use Command+Shift+Z for it, it is quite handy.
     
  3. Sceneshifter thread starter macrumors 6502

    Sceneshifter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
  4. tkjazzer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    #4
    do you need to restart before it works? does it work on 10.4.11?

    I'm just followed your directions and no change.

    How does the computer know that when I typed 'Zoom' that it should do the green button?
     
  5. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #5
    Zoom is in the Window menu for each Application that has the zoom button e.g. System Preferences doesnt have it as it doesnt have a zoom button.

    if you add "Zoom" as a keyboard shortcut after you press the shortcut OS X will look for "Zoom" in all the menus for the current application. if its in any of the menus it will activate it.

    hint for a menu that has three dots after it you have to press "option+:" for it to work. so for example to set "Reset Safari…" as a keyboard shortcut you have to press "option+:" after you type "Reset Safari" in the Menu Title and then set Safari for the Application.
     
  6. tkjazzer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    #6
    I can't get it to work. I guess I'm a noob at keyboard shortcuts. I did everything that I think I could do. Doesn't work.

    I notice above there is a different zoom - looks like font size. If that is checked, does it mess up my new keyboard shortcut Zoom which I can't get to work?
     
  7. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #7
    do you have it set like this? should work just quit and reopen the application you wont it to work with.

    Screencapture 1.jpg

    which application is the different zoom in? ive noticed this doesnt work in Photoshop; there is no menu item for window zoom only zoom in.
     
  8. Neutral Gamer macrumors 6502a

    Neutral Gamer

    #8
    tkjazzer, I used to have similar problems on my Mac when an application had a different or multiple versions of the "Zoom" menu command.

    There are two solutions to your problem. The first one is easy, just use a free program like Witch which is available here:
    http://www.manytricks.com/witch/

    It has an option to allow you to set a keyboard shortcut to zoom a window. Not only that but it has LOADS more options as well and is basically a much more feature packed version of the Cmd+Tab switcher. Highly recommended. I've attached a couple of screenshots below. (Note: You may need to check the "Enable access for assistive devices" option in the Universal Access section of System Preferences for it to work properly.)

    The only thing is that I've never tried it in Leopard so if it doesn't work your second option would be to use QuickSilver's "Triggers" feature to activate an AppleScript file that does what you want. This definitely does work in Leopard as it's the method I used to use. If Witch doesn't work let me know and I'll explain how to setup option 2.

    Hope it helps,
    Cheers :)
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Latro macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
  10. tkjazzer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    #10
    so I installed witch and it made me use the universal access. Then I uninstalled it -realizing that I needed to turn on the universal access for the Zoom command to work. I needed to enable assistance devices. I think that is the main reason why it wasn't working.
     
  11. stainlessliquid macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    #11
    Wow I didnt know you could type in a command and it can assign a shortcut to it, I thought that was just for naming the shortcut which I didnt understand the point of.

    I hate the green button in safari since in never seems to actually work with most sites (I always end up with like a 640x480 window that is nothing like the content) but I like the menu shortcut tip.
     
  12. Neutral Gamer macrumors 6502a

    Neutral Gamer

    #12
    Ah, that makes sense now. Well, as long as you got it working one way or another I'm happy! But Apple REALLY should've put in a keyboard shortcut from the start like they did for minimising windows and hiding applications. Then none of us would have to do any of this. :)

    It's amazing isn't it? There's so many new features you can find in Mac OS whether by accident or through forums like this:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=376399

    I found that the Zoom button worked pretty well with most sites. But they could've expanded it by adding a "Maximise" option like in Windows as there are CERTAIN times where it is necessary. A "Tile Windows" option wouldn't go amiss either but, if you're like me, you already would've written your own scripts to emulate those features and many more ... :D
     
  13. Jrad macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    #13
    Photoshop

    Has anyone figured out how to make this option work on Photoshop?
     
  14. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #14
    What do you want to maximise?
    Have you tried the F key to cycle through display modes in PS?
    And with Control + Tab you can cycle through open documents in PS.
     
  15. Salvatore.Dali macrumors newbie

    Salvatore.Dali

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    #15
    Love Ya!
     
  16. scrabbe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    #16
    [/ATTACH]
    It worked for me in Mavericks and Yosemite Beta! The dialog should look like this but with out my keyboard shortcut
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page