Keyboard wear, how are yours doing?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Goettel, Mar 27, 2009.

1. Goettel macrumors member

Hi all,

I have noticed that my keyboard is starting to get shiny, especially the keys that get used most often. I am concerned about having letters disappear as I plan to keep the computer for a long time. Being a college student, I type quite a lot and replacing the keyboard (and the whole top panel) comes out to over 300$ CND. Also, I don't want to use a keyboard skin as I hate typing with those.

The way I understand it, the keys are translucent white (for the backlight) with a black paint. Do you think I should be concerned with the paint wearing out 2-3 years from now?

2. RKpro macrumors 6502

I'm a bit ashamed to admit the same is happening to my W, A, S, D keys. I don't really know the answer to you question, but I suspect the MBA people would know because this black back-lit keyboard was introduced on the MBA a year ago.

3. Goettel thread starter macrumors member

Keyboard wear

Hi all,

In fact I don't own a MBA but I own a unibody MBP and I am starting to notice some keyboard wear on the most used keys. It is very easy to see on the space bar under the right lighting. As both macs share the same backlit keyboard, I would like to know how yours are going.

I plan to keep the MBP for a long time and it gets used quite a lot as I am a college student. I also take great care of my machine and try to keep my hands clean when I type.

Replacing the keyboard requires replacing the whole top case and costs over 300$ CND...

4. Pika macrumors 68000

Pika

I've been using a silicon keyboard protector called zCover for a year and it prevents all kinds of oils and dust get into the keyboard + wear.

5. ayeying macrumors 601

ayeying

I have the majority of the shiny keys on the "Y" "U" "I" "O" "K" "L" "N" and "SPACE"... dunno why. Both of my hands are equally dirty. lol

6. andrew upstairs macrumors 6502