Keychain Hacked?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by netdog, Jun 17, 2015.

  1. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #1
    key image.jpg While I was waiting to see the Mac Genius about my MacBook Pro, I called up KeyChain Access and got a very strange screen when I clicked on “Show Password” (as shown in the upper pane in the attached graphic).

    In the lower pain, rather than wanting my machine password (as one would expect), it only seems to take the password in question, in this case that for Amazon. As you can see, the lower pain is gobbledygoop as well.

    I’m a little worried that the machine may have been compromised via public WiFi at Apple or via some other means, though I do run AntiVirus software.

    Anybody have an opinion about what has happened here? I am running the beta of 10.10.4 but I upgraded today to the most recent beta and the problem remains.
     
  2. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #2
    Have you changed your system font per chance ?

    Q-6
     
  3. netdog thread starter macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #3
    No
     
  4. netdog thread starter macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
  5. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
    Yes, that's no indication that you have been 'hacked', just a font issue.
    The font that you use might not be correctly accessed for the authentication window, so you will see those garbage characters - your system is choosing the right characters, but your font is not correct. Change back to the normal font - or you might also fix that by clearing system font caches and restarting.
    And, likely your "genius" would fix that, too, as they probably see that from time to time.
     
  6. Queen6, Jun 17, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2015

    Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #6
    That`s your answer, go back to the dev`s page and review the installation instruction in detail, or simply remove the new fonts and all will be good :)

    If you remove the fonts;
    1. Run "sudo atsutil databases -remove" to clear the OS X Font Cache
    2. Repair Disk Permissions

    Q-6
     

Share This Page