Keynote across multiple displays

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by narongwit12, Mar 30, 2009.

  1. narongwit12 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    #1
    I m finding a way to display a Keynote file 3072 x 768 across multiple displays? Looking to have an image that size feed widescreen presentation across three individual projection screens.

    Does new Keynote released with iwork 09 support multiple display?
     
  2. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #2
    I don't know how, but at my church they do exactly that. If I get a chance, I'll try to ask someone how they have it set up.

    jW
     
  3. narongwit12 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    #3
    Thank you in advance for your kindness
     
  4. fangirlzab macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    #4
    Quick question: for the three screens, do you want it to be one continuous image or as three individual displays, each displaying the same thing?
     
  5. illegallydead macrumors 6502a

    illegallydead

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado!!!
    #5
    Hmmm.... That's a tough one. Theoretically I would think you could get it to work, although I'm not 100% sure how. I know that Keynote does play nice with multiple displays, but mainly as having one display presenter notes, and the other be the presentation.

    Perhaps you could try making the default presentation size that 3072x768? From there, at the least, you should be able to just size the keynote window that big and have it span across the 3 displays.

    Your only other option would be to spilt the image into 3 1024x768 images, and make 3 presentations with the timings all in sync. Pain in the @$$, obviously...
     
  6. illegallydead macrumors 6502a

    illegallydead

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado!!!
    #6
    Read the original post. He wants a 3072 (aka 1024x3) x 764 image "across multiple displays"

    3 displaying the same thing is super, super easy get get working, simply mirror the displays, and only fidget with one monitor.
     
  7. Snakedog macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    #7
    Solution

    I think that the only way to do this is to use a Matrox TripleHead2go or similar. It will trick your computer into thinking that you have 1 really wide monitor (enough to split into 2 or 3 screens depending which model) then the TripleHead will split the image into the proper amount of screens making 1 image across 3 screens. It works with ANY application too.


    I have a slightly different issue with my setup, how do I make the presenter screen go on screen 2 and the display onto screen #3... So that my iMac is NOT being used, just the other two screens. This is necessary for me because the two external monitors are sent to a stage monitor and the screen... Currently we are mirroring the iMac's screen to screen 2... but it makes everything flash during the transition.

    Basically, can I specify which screen the presenter and presentation images are displayed to? (When using a 3 monitor setup)


    Thanks
     

Share This Page