Keynote Thousands Separator in Tables not working correctly

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jalagl, Apr 10, 2008.

  1. jalagl macrumors 6502a

    jalagl

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Costa Rica
    #1
    I am getting a weird behavior with the Thousands Separator in Keynote v4.0.3. I wanted to check with you guys to see if you've ever seen something like this and if you know of any solution/workaround.

    To reproduce the error, follow these steps:
    1. Enter the following number in a cell: 572800
    2. Open the table inspector (View->Show Inspector->(select the Table inspector)
    3. Select the cell, go to the Format tab, and enter the following options:
      Cell Format: Currency
      Symbol: US Dollar ($)
      Decimals: 2
      Thousands Separator: Checked
      Accounting Style: Checked
    4. The number will be displayed as: $ 572800.00
    5. Instead of the expected: $ 572,800.00

    Has anybody seen this behavior, or better yet, have an idea on how to correct it?
     
  2. karenflower macrumors 6502a

    karenflower

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    #2
    Hmm, I just tried it (v4.0.3) and the result was $ 572,800.00. :confused:
     
  3. jalagl thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jalagl

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Costa Rica
    #3
    It seems weird that I am getting this, I don't recall using it before, but it is happening with this presentation I am working on. I attached a screenshot showing the issue.

    Any ideas on why this could be happening? :confused:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    Hmm, I'm getting a comma even though my thousands separator is set to a space :confused:
     
  5. wchapman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #5
    non-working thousands separator

    I'm having the same problem and it's making me nuts! I have some spreadsheets that are older, and there are thousands separators in those docs, so, if I want the 1,000s separator in the new spreadsheet, I have to copy and paste from the older document. Super annoying!
     

Share This Page