Kill/Close Background Apps

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by loyalist, Apr 30, 2015.

  1. loyalist macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    #1
    I just can't figure out how to kill or close apps running in the background. Is there a way? Does it even run in the background?
     
  2. LoveToMacRumors macrumors 68000

    LoveToMacRumors

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    No multitasking.
     
  3. loyalist thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    #3
    Horrible. I can't even check to see what apps are running in the background.

    Here's how to close an App:

    1) Open the app in question on the Watch.
    2) Press and hold the side button (below the Digital Crown) until you see the Power Off screen.
    3) Then press and hold it again to quit the app and return to the home screen.

    Good luck trying to remember which apps you opened :confused: Need a jailbreak for this watch!
     
  4. mightyjabba macrumors 65816

    mightyjabba

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Location:
    Tatooine
    #4
    That's good to know (assuming it's doing what you're saying it's doing -- it's a little hard to tell if you've actually force quit the app or not). But there should be no need to do this unless an app is acting up for some reason.
     
  5. loyalist thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    #5
    I would like to kill Apps that I use less frequently (maybe an App to check a score) and don't want it to help kill my battery.
     
  6. mightyjabba macrumors 65816

    mightyjabba

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Location:
    Tatooine
    #6
    I really think you're better off just leaving it to the OS. Can third-party WatchOS apps even run in the background?
     
  7. loyalist, Apr 30, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2015

    loyalist thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    #7
    Not sure either but if you open Instagram and scroll down to a particular picture, it will open to the same picture if you go to the home screen and return to Instagram.

    I know any Apps in your Glances are running in the background.
     
  8. mightyjabba macrumors 65816

    mightyjabba

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Location:
    Tatooine
    #8
    Yes, but I think it's just saving your state when you exit.

    Are they? Why do they take so long to load then?
     
  9. jabingla2810 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #9
    Nothing is running in the background. You don't need to manage which apps are open, because there is nothing to manage!

    Ps. You also don't need to 'fully close' apps on the iPhone or iPad. Do some research and stop treating everything like a PC.
     
  10. DreamPod macrumors 65816

    DreamPod

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    #10
    That was pretty condescending, considering how inaccurate it is. If "nothing is running in the background", how do you explain my app (that I wrote) continuing from where it left off when running it again on the watch? I didn't write any code to save app mode or scroll positions upon exit. But Apple *did* tell developers to add support for both OnDisable and OnEnable, which means apps can be paused and then resumed without completely shutting down.

    And there was a point where a couple apps on the watch needed updating and I couldn't figure out a solution, would have been nice to force-close them to force them to update next time (something I need to do on iPhone now and then).
     
  11. jabingla2810 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #11
    Those apps arn't running!

    I don't mean to be condescending, but this question gets asked far too often.

    They are frozen, so you can pick up where you left off.

    http://www.howtogeek.com/204552/no-closing-background-apps-on-your-iphone-or-ipad-wont-make-it-faster/
     
  12. DreamPod macrumors 65816

    DreamPod

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    #12
    Right, but it's the same thing, the watch is holding the app in memory so it can continue where it left off, so force-closing it to force it to reset would be a good thing to do. Telling people it is never needed in any situation to do anything, is doing them a disservice.
     
  13. mightyjabba macrumors 65816

    mightyjabba

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Location:
    Tatooine
    #13
    I don't think it's "holding them in memory" in the sense that it's using up resources. There's a reason that Apple doesn't tell people to do this. The only reason to quit an app is if it's frozen or something.
     

Share This Page