Kill my computer.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Cricketman, Oct 25, 2009.

1. Cricketman macrumors regular

Hello everyone,

I have an 8 year old Compaq Presario desktop. Here are the system specs:
    Intel Pentium CPU 1.8 GHz.
    512 MB RAM
    80GB Hard Drive
    Video Card, etc Unkown
    Windows XP

I need to kill this machine. I am in need for a new computer, preferably an iMac or even a Mac Mini, and for my parents to give in, this must die.

Now now, before you all jump on me, take a second in my situation.

-I'm a student. I rely on this machine for all my papers, documents, lectures, power point presentations, and e-mails. I also use it for light entertainment, such as YouTube and the occasional movie.

-The Hard Drive on this device is almost full. I only have 1.2GB free, and this is showing in computer performance. It's slow and groggy and I can't handle it anymore.
    - I cannot watch a single Youtube video without lag and skippage. It will short out in the middle, audio will go out of sync, as if everything suddenly moves only in slow motion. It's unbearable.
    -Only 1 USB port works
    -CD/DVD Drive is toast.

-This thing is LOUD. Every time I use something even the slightest bit intensive, it sounds as if a plane is taking off in my room. I can't hear if my parents call my frown downstairs, or even if my phone rings. Sometimes I leave the computer on at night, and the sound drives me insane.

We recently purchased a Sony Vaio FW 235J, a very nice laptop computer, last year at an absolute steal of a price for 750$ at Best Buy last year. It's got it all - 4Gigs of ram, a large 250GB hard drive, a big 16.4 inch fully HIGH DEF screen, it's a good computer. However, it's no desktop - it's usually downstairs and is my mom's computer. I don't want to fill up the computer with my music, movies, and school stuff.