killall command

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jcmacos, Nov 19, 2010.

  1. jcmacos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    #1
    How do you use killall command to kill a process with spaces?

    I tried killall "Parallel desktop" process and it does not recognize that process name.

    Killall Safari works fine. Thanks.
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
  3. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #3
    Code:
    killall Parallel\ desktop
    That won't kill all processes with that name. killall will kill every process with a particular name.
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    If there is more than one, you can kill each with AM.
     
  5. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #5
    True, you can do that, but it's easier (for some) to just kill them with one command from Terminal and be done with it.
     
  6. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #6
    You can group them by selecting the option, see attached photo. Then just kill the parent.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #7
    You're missing the point. What if you have 50 processes under different parents? That's where killall comes into play. Of course, they all roll up to one parent, init, but you don't want to kill that. It's much safer to reboot.
     
  8. sammich, Nov 19, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2010

    sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #8
    Well yeah, if you know what you're doing, killall certainly does what you want. The OP isn't versed in terminal, we're advising that Activity Monitor is a safer, user friendly version. And in this case, Parallels is safe to kill as a parent.

    To provide another solution to the OP's question: try putting single quotes around the name, and the program name is case-sensitive. (EDIT: ah I see you tried the quotes already, single/double quotes makes no difference, the case does though).

    Code:
    killall 'Parallels Desktop'
     
  9. jcmacos thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    #9
    Killall Parallel\ desktop does not work.

    No matching processes belonging to you were found.

    I am trying to put this in applescript.

    on run
    do shell script "killall Parallels Desktop"
    end run
     
  10. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
  11. jcmacos thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    #11
    Interesting, running

    killall 'Network Utility'

    works fine.... Must be that process "Parallels Desktop" that is having issue.


    But i can kill by PID.
     

Share This Page