Killing Floor!

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by mixel, May 20, 2010.

  1. mixel macrumors 65816

    mixel

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #1
    Anyone else got/getting Killing Floor?

    The performance is really impressive! I'll happily use this version over booting into Win7!

    If you press ` and enter STAT FPS it'll display the FPS.. It's a strange game for FPS - it's normal to get >100FPS when there aren't specimens about but as you get swamped so quickly it can drop pretty fast.
     
  2. robj macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    #2
    Which Mac are you talking about?

    I cannot stand this Steam thing... It pushes you to buy a game every week! :D

    I hope they enable SteamPlay in HL2 ( yes, I havent finish it yet ) and L4D2 soon
     
  3. mixel thread starter macrumors 65816

    mixel

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #3
    MBP5,1 - 2.4Ghz - 9600M :D I haven't tried it on my iMac but the performance will be even better on that (8800GS)! It plays beautifully. Its really only worthwhile in multiplayer/online though unless you enjoy solo grinding so it's a bit nichey.

    On the MBP antialias doesn't seem to be an option but it looks fine without it. I wonder if its a GPU or a driver thing, or whether they've just disabled it because it caused a bottleneck.. I hope it's enabled in a patch.
     
  4. Perceptes macrumors member

    Perceptes

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #4
    Works great and I'm having fun with it on my 2008 Mac Pro. I hadn't played a shooter in this style (co-op survival) and it's a really cool twist on the genre. The graphics aren't phenomenal, and it definitely feels kind of amateurish, but the gameplay is totally solid and the RPG-style leveling up is rad. It's only getting me more pumped about Left 4 Dead.

    One thing to watch out for, however: There is a graphical bug where your screen will turn white when you get hit, preventing you from seeing anything, which pretty much makes the game unplayable. If this happens to you, you can fix it by turning off motion blur in the advanced display settings. Apparently this affects people with the ATI 2600 HD card, and possibly more. Tripwire is aware of it so it'll probably get fixed soon.
     
  5. Chuushajou macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #5
    "stat fps" will show your frame-rates if you enter the command into the console, just incase some of you lot don't know! :)
     
  6. Aegelward macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Luckily i already bought this during the christmas sale for practically nothing...

    Performance is reasonable.. but could be improved.

    Of course part of the blame could be that i was playing on battery power with a trackpad.
     
  7. ert3 macrumors 6502a

    ert3

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    #7
    I averaged about 70 fps through out, dropping to at worst 40 fps when we had an actual horde on us.

    either way i like it. LFD is good but its too arcady, This game is well worth the money
     
  8. MindBrain macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
  9. ert3 macrumors 6502a

    ert3

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    #9
    any know if the mod that comes with it or the character packs are compatible with mac
     
  10. reberto macrumors 65816

    reberto

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    #10
    Runs flawlessly at highest on my i7 iMac (runs the same as it did on my i7/HD5870 PC did), but I can't seem to run it at 2560x1440 (native res, it's not even an option)
     
  11. sakanagai macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Location:
    Indiana
    #11
    I've only downloaded the game on one of my computers, but it doesn't seem to play friendly with ATI video cards (4870, 4870 X2, or 5970) at least in Windows. Haven't tried it in my Nvidia desktops (8800GTS G92, 8800GTS SLI, 9800GX2, 9800GX2 SLI) or Macs (9400M, 320M). Despite the cards being plenty powerful, the game was practically a slide show at 1920x1200. That was worse than Crysis.
     
  12. mixel thread starter macrumors 65816

    mixel

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #12
    Yeah it's all there, lets me play as the new characters at the KF-Bedlam asylum rave map and so on, with all the post-release weapons..

    It's feature-identical to KF on Windows other than the antialiasing thing and (obvious) lack of DX renderers.. Some of the visual effects seem a bit off on my MBP, on the KF-Farm map with the lightning the flashes can do some funny patterns on the floor..

    Otherwise I wouldn't know i was running in osX at all, its a really good version.. Seemingly less teething problems than Portal had.
     
  13. mixel thread starter macrumors 65816

    mixel

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #13
    Maybe I was wrong about the lack of teething problems LOL. I didnt have any ATI machines to test it on.

    Seems like Apple's ATI drivers might be the weakest link in the whole Mac gaming thing if they're causing such issues in portal AND KF. :(
     
  14. sakanagai macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Location:
    Indiana
    #14
    Sorry. This was on a PC, not a Mac. The game itself is not very graphically intensive, though, so it should run well at lower resolutions. Do ATI Macs have trouble in Portal as well? I thought that the issues were due to the Source Engine not being optimized for OpenGL, not drivers.
     
  15. mixel thread starter macrumors 65816

    mixel

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #15
    That's even stranger then as I've tried it on three ATI windows machines and got good performance even on outdated cards (its only Unreal2004 based)

    I think particles (and possibly looking through portals?) slowed ATI cards down a lot more than the nvidia ones in osX, but I'm only going on 2nd hand info.
     
  16. nick1516 macrumors 6502a

    nick1516

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #16
    I played this on a free multiplayer weekend awhile back and it was definitely fun, might get it.
     
  17. buklau macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    #17
    Killing Floor is really just an elaborate mod for UT2004, and UT2004 wouldn't recognize very high resolutions. Assuming the command still exists in the game, you can manually set your resolution by accessing the console (it's either pushing the tilde '~' key or tab) and typing:

    Code:
    setres 2560x1400x32
    Then pushing return. The generic form for this command is:

    Code:
    setres WidthxHeightxPixelDepth
     
  18. 3rd Doctor macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    #18
    Is it worth buying this, or shall i just wait for left 4 dead?
     
  19. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #19
    I'd wait for L4D. It's a more comfortable experience (full steamworks/friends integration, more servers, more players) and the game itself is more varied, more haunting, more fun. I'd say anyway. At the time of its launch a lot of people called it the poor mans L4D, not sure how much has changed in updates though.

    L4D is unholy good though, better than the sequel too.
     
  20. G-Force macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    #20
    I've bought this today and to be honest, I like L4D(2) a lot better.
     
  21. Perceptes macrumors member

    Perceptes

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #21
    Does L4D have anything equivalent to Killing Floor's perks? That's an aspect of KF I really like, and would be one thing KF has over L4D if there's no equivalent.
     
  22. mixel thread starter macrumors 65816

    mixel

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #22
    It changed a lot in the updates.. Big gameplay tweaks.. (ranged zombies, new weapons..) I would never call it poor mans L4D, it doesn't really play similarly at all.

    I disagree about L4D being better than L4D2.. L4D2 winning for fun gameplay L4D winning for atmosphere. Some of the finales in L4D2 are incredibly fun. :D Both great games though.

    Friends can be invited across steam straight into KF.. It has achievments and everything, it's pretty steamed up..

    But yeah. I'd take either L4D or L4D2 over KF any day, but they all have their place. Gotta catch em all.
     
  23. mixel thread starter macrumors 65816

    mixel

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #23
    Nope, no character progression whatsoever, or difference between the characters in any way other than skins and dialogue.
     
  24. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #24
    Heh actually I think I agree. The melee weapons and some levels are actually very fun to play through. The atmosphere just isn't there though. I don't get scared at L4D2 at all. 1 is the master of suspense.
    I always half-quote this but L4D1 is like a Hitchcock film, L4D2 is a teen slasher film. Couldn't live without either though.
     
  25. fansub macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    #25
    Im having some trouble with the graphics, every time i take damage the screen goes white and stays white. I cant see a thing and promptly die.
     

Share This Page