Kilobyte or Kilobit

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by acarle208, Apr 24, 2008.

  1. acarle208 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    #1
    Hey, i'm always hereing kilobit and kilobyte, i know what a kilobyte is, but what is a kilobit?
    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #2
    google

    first hit will tell you all you need to know

    for more info here
     
  3. acarle208 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
  4. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #4
    ...a byte is 8 bits. kilo=1000 so...

    its just a different smaller way to measure
     
  5. acarle208 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
  6. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    did you not read the articles i gave you? its DATA

    when you hear it in terms of speed for internet and networking its talking about how much data is transfered
     
  7. acarle208 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    #7
    Say its 100 kilobits/sec, how many kilobytes are transfered per sec?
     
  8. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #8
    divide 100 by 8
     
  9. acarle208 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
  10. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida

Share This Page