Kingston memory for iMac ?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by mysticav, Jul 15, 2011.

  1. mysticav macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    #1
    Hi,

    I have a
    iMac 2.5Hgz Intel Core i5
    4 GB 1333 Mhz DDR3

    I want to expand to 8GB. As far as I know, I have 2 free slots available on my mac. So I would like to buy 2 modules, 2GB each.

    Mac sells each memory module at 150 USD.

    Apparently. this is an alternative:
    http://www.provantage.com/kingston-technology-kta-mp1333-2g~7KIN9175.htm

    I would like to know if I can use the kingston memory and if I can combine it with the current mac memory modules already installed.

    If so, why the mac price is so high compared with kingston ?

    Thanks.
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    You can use Kingston (or any other brand for that matter) in your iMac along with the stock memory. However, that link will not work, as it is the wrong physical size for your computer. One of these will do the trick for you. Apple just rips you off for upgrades you do through them. Definitely pass on RAM upgrades from them, and you also don't need memory labeled with apple or mac compatible, it's all the same.
     
  3. mysticav thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    #3
    I really appreciated your help. I will save more than 200 bucks. But just one question, the size you are recommending me looks very different as the one apple is suggesting me to buy for my iMac:
    http://store.apple.com/us/product/MC727G/A?mco=Nzc1MjMwNg

    Can you please help me out with this ?
     
  4. jbyun04 macrumors 6502a

    jbyun04

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
  5. mysticav thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    #5
    jbyun04, thanks. But also, they look very different in size, as the one apple offers for my iMac.

    why to many sizes ?

    Des anybody know the exact size compatible with my iMac ?

    21.5-inch: 2.5GHz

    2.5GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i5
    1920 x 1080 resolution
    4GB (two 2GB) memory
    500GB hard drive1
    AMD Radeon HD 6750M with 512MB

    Actually, is the current iMac apple is offering for 1,199 USD.
     
  6. jbyun04 macrumors 6502a

    jbyun04

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    As far as I know, there's 3 sizes?
    SO-DIMM for MacBook Pros, MacBooks and iMacs
    regular DIMM is for desktop PC
    and I believe there is a Server version for servers and Mac Pros.

    SO-DIMM is the one I linked to which is the right size for Macs. However I'd do a bit more research as I've heard some memory is incompatible. Someone on here might know more on that one I posted.
     

Share This Page