Kingston RAM Upgrade?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Jesus I, Jul 14, 2009.

  1. Jesus I macrumors member

    Jesus I

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #1
  2. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #2
    Kingston ValuRAM is ALWAYS a crapshoot with Macs. It may work flawlessless, or it may give you kernal panics deluxe. There is no way to predict until you install. Personally I'd go with Crucial (try Newegg). It's fairly dependable w/ Macs.
     
  3. Jesus I thread starter macrumors member

    Jesus I

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #3
    Thanks for your opinion,Chupa Chupa. Does someone know a webpage where I can buy RAM, and ship to other countries?

    Thanks.
     
  4. sumzitup macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    Try www.bhphotovideo.com for shipping to other countries, I often ship from these guys to New Zealand and they have always been reliable.
     
  5. pbasser2 macrumors member

    pbasser2

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    #5
    Kingston? worked for me

    installed Kingston ram and at first wouldn't boot then reset and worked. wouldn't have used unless it wasn't a freebie! no issues since
     
  6. ikos macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #6
    OWC and Crucial are the only ones I trust for my Ram.
     
  7. iyacyas macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    #7
  8. CalMin macrumors 6502a

    CalMin

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
  9. Cannedkoala macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #9
    I have 4gb Kingston ram in my 13" MPB. No issues.
     
  10. Jesus I thread starter macrumors member

    Jesus I

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #10
    Thanks to everyone for your opinions. I entered to macsales.com and got this far:

    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memory/MacBook/Pro/Core2/


    I have a 15" 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo MacBook Pro, so far I know that the max to upgrade is 4 GB. But there is the 6 GB kit (4 GB + 2GB).

    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/5300DDR2S6GP/

    What is the max of RAM my type of MacBook Pro can use?

    If I'm just planning to upgrade to 4 GB (2 GB + 2 GB), which one should I buy?

    I really appreciate the help.
     

Share This Page