KisMAC Airport Extreme

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by kain, May 23, 2008.

  1. kain macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #1
    Does anyone know what the latest version of KisMAC is & if the Airport Extreme is supported for packet injection, or if that's even possible? Also, I've been looking at Aircrack but it's really confusing. Is there a driver that allows the Airport Extreme to inject packets (for either KisMAC or Aircrack)? Thanks!
     
  2. pjrobertson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #2
    I take it you're testing the security of your own network...

    If your airport extreme is broadcom, then there aren't any drivers that support injection for kismac (or Aircrack).

    Aircrack isn't too scary once you've got used to it, and you can always use a virtual machine. But as I said, you can't do any injection with the built in Airport card if it's Broadcom based (check it out in system profiler)
     
  3. Xdpker macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #3
    Is my airport card broadcom? I can't do any packet injection either.
    AirPort Card Information:

    Wireless Card Type: AirPort Extreme (0x168C, 0x87)
    Wireless Card Locale: USA
    Wireless Card Firmware Version: 1.3.4
    Current Wireless Network: SF
    Wireless Channel: 9
     
  4. pjrobertson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #4
    You need to check in system profiler

    Click 'Apple' while holding OPTN and then system profiler.
     
  5. tirwit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #5
    Data about my card

    en1:
    Tipo de placa: AirPort Extreme (0x14E4, 0x93)
    Versão de firmware: Broadcom BCM43xx 1.0 (5.10.131.16.1)
    Locale: ETSI
    Código do país: GB
    Modos PHY suportados: 802.11 a/b/g/n
    Canais suportados: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, 60, 64, 100, 104, 108, 112, 116, 120, 124, 128, 132, 136, 140
    Activar ao usar ligação sem fios: Suportado

    The firmware is my type of card? I thought it was just the software installed in the card, not necessarily the card's producer.
     

Share This Page