Knockoff Apple keyboard -Need to remap a key

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by zacho56, Aug 16, 2011.

  1. zacho56 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Newfoundland, Canada
    #1
    Hey. I just purchased a knockoff apple keyboard on ebay. When i got it today, I found out that it doesn't have an escape key, it only has this square box design where the escape key should be. Is there any way to remap that one key so it becomes the escape key? I have tried keyremap4macbook to no avail. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!
     
  2. djrod macrumors 65816

    djrod

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Madrid - Spain
    #2
    Sounds like an iPad keyboard to me
     
  3. Egosphere macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    #3
    I too bought a cheap knock off "made for iPad" looks-like-aluminum bluetooth keyboard and have the same issue using it with my Mac. The button on the top left corner of mine is a lock button and when pressed brings up the shut down window. I've tried DoubleCommand, KeyRemap4MacBook, and Ukelele to remap the button but unsuccessfully. Does anyone know how I can remap this key to Esc?
     
  4. chinasteve macrumors newbie

    chinasteve

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    #4
    Bump

    BUMP

    I'd like to know the answer too. Anyone?

    Thanks,
    Steve
     
  5. benwiggy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #5
    I hate to state the obvious, but: you've bought an imitation part that either doesn't work as it's supposed to, or isn't designed to work with a Mac.

    I'd return your purchase and get a proper Apple keyboard. Or even a proper PC keyboard, which should also work well.
     
  6. iAppl3Fan macrumors 6502a

    iAppl3Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    #6
    Sounds like a good solution to me.
     
  7. chinasteve macrumors newbie

    chinasteve

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    #7
    Thanks for your suggestions.
    Does anyone else have solution ideas for the stated issue of remapping an iPad key (on an Apple or off-brand keyboard) to work as an 'esc' key for a Mac?
    Thanks,
    Steve
     
  8. susanatsfo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    #8
    Try holding down Function key

    I also have an off-brand keyboard. The esc key works when I hold down the Fn key when I press esc.
     
  9. chinasteve macrumors newbie

    chinasteve

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    #9
    That's the answer!

    You're my hero! That's the best answer I've gotten. Works like a charm.

    Thank-you, Susan!
    -Steve
     

Share This Page