Kodak DCS Pro 14n

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by cube, Oct 28, 2007.

  1. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #1
    I'm still sticking to film because I am waiting for a reasonably priced full frame nikon.

    Would you go for such a kludgy camera? Noise seems to be a problem and I don't know what the resolution is at ISO 800.

    $800
     
  2. cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #2
    6 or 3.4 MP at ISO 800. Not bad. But I have no idea how it looks.
     
  3. cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
  4. cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #4
    Can't meter with manual lenses because it is based on F80. Bad. :(
     
  5. cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #5
    No Aperture support. :(

    SILKYPIX works, but it ignores the WB info.

    Bibble Pro works.

    ACR and Lightroom work.
     
  6. compuwar macrumors 601

    compuwar

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    Northern/Central VA
    #6
    I think you'll be waiting a while then. It's a fair studio camera, but I don't think I'd pay $800 for one.
     
  7. cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #7
    Well, I got it. I was pleasantly surprised, I thought it would be more bulky.

    I think it was a good price. It's going for $870-$1500 on ebay.

    We'll see how it performs with good light outside, RAW, and postprocessing.

    Now to really justify getting this instead of the Sigma 10-20 DC, I would have to buy the Sigma 12-24 (FF).
     
  8. DamoRed macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    #8
    Absolutely not!

    Run a mile, even if it was half the price. Why put money into what is a defunct camera with little or no support? For $800 that is the larger part of a current fully supported camera with far less issues than the 14N.

    Damo
     
  9. cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #9
    Because a current full-frame will cost $5000 for quite a while.
     
  10. speedyturtle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #10
    Kodak DCS Pro 14n

    I have a Kodak DCS SLR Pro 14n for 3 years and a Kodak DCS Pro 14n for 2 years and now they both have the same problem. The LCD screens are black and won't display anything and the pictures aren't going to the memory card.
    I have a feeling they're going to be expensive to repair. I've loved using them because of the high resolution but now I don't have a camera to use unless I go back to film. It's very disappointing.
     
  11. Forced Perfect macrumors 6502

    Forced Perfect

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada.
    #11
    Only $2,199. :)
     
  12. cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004

Share This Page