KQ7 not detecting CD-ROM

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by G4OS753, Nov 15, 2014.

  1. G4OS753 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #1
    Hello,

    I recently purchased a copy of King's Quest 7 for my classic Macintosh. PowerBook G3 Bronze Keyboard (Pismo) w/ Mac OS 9.0.2.

    I installed the game on to my HD, and when I try to run the application, I get an error message stating that I need the CD in the drive to run the game. I do have the disc in, but for some reason the application is not recognizing or detecting the disc even though it shows up on my desktop.

    It should be noted that I am using an external USB CD-ROM drive due to the fact that my internal drive went kaplooey last Summer.


    I would appreciate any tips or insight that you can offer.

    Thank you!
     
  2. MacTech68, Nov 16, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2014

    MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #2
    Does the box denote minimum requirements? - Just trying to see if an IDE CDROM drive would be supported in the first place.

    It might only support a "built-in" drive. (which is IDE on the Pismo)

    Sadly, if it's using some mechanism via the Apple CDROM driver, then the third party driver for your USB CD Drive may not allow the game to see it.

    If you have any third party drivers for CDROMs enabled, try disabling them and see if Apple's USB Mass Storage driver allows the CD to mount.

    You may want to consider updating the OS to at least MacOS 9.1 too.

    EDIT: Just checked - released 1994 - all SCSI CD drives at the time. The other option might be to make a disk image of the CD using TOAST and mount the image using TOAST.
     
  3. mikecwest macrumors 6502a

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    #3
    If I remember correctly, the copy protection required that you insert the original disk into the built in drive every time you start this game...If I remember correctly, there was a way around it, some special "hack utility" that was most likely obtained at the time from the MacWarez forum on AOL.

    I don't remember the name of the hack..sorry.
     
  4. havokalien macrumors 6502a

    havokalien

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Kelso, Wa
    #4
    image the disk and put it on your desktop and mount. That used to work really well and was faster than the disk drive.
     
  5. mikecwest macrumors 6502a

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    #5
    I think KQ7 was one of the few games that did not work with. I think it used a copy protection bit, which showed as a bad block in the imaging software. It would look for that bad block in a specific location on the disk for that block. There was a way around it, but it didn't work with Toast.
     
  6. havokalien macrumors 6502a

    havokalien

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Kelso, Wa
  7. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #7
    Indeed. Or perhaps a Firewire external drive. Note that I can't guarantee that it would work.

    The game would be expecting to work via apple's CDROM extension.

    Here's a thought. Some of the dual platform game CDs used to be hybrids. That is to say they contained an ISO9660 CDROM partition AND a Mac Volume. If the USB drive is mounting only the Mac volume, but the game also needs to see the ISO9660 volume for game data, maybe that's the problem.

    If you put the KQ7 CDROM into a Windows PC, does it see a DOS style volume?
     
  8. havokalien macrumors 6502a

    havokalien

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Kelso, Wa
  9. mikecwest macrumors 6502a

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    #9
    I think you may be right, I remember now that some games had an additional partition with seeming useless data, that was used for copy protection as well.
     

Share This Page