KVM switch with monitor question

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by proof71991, Apr 23, 2008.

  1. proof71991 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    #1
    I have a monitor on my current PC that i'm looking to be a secondary computer when I need it. Considering I wouldn't be using it often though I would like to use the screen as a second monitor for a MacBook i'm looking to get but when I am using the PC I would like to still use that same monitor.
    I was wondering if I can get and use a KVM switch to use the PC monitor as a second monitor on my MacBook and switch to (on the same monitor) my PC when needed.
    I'm not looking to share keyboards or mouse, just the monitor.
    Can I use a KVM switch for this purpose?
    (Just ask if any extra information is needed)
    Thanks
     
  2. andy.barron macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Location:
    Bedford, England
    #2
    It will, yes. I would recommend using hd rather than analogue kvm as I have found it well worth it
     
  3. proof71991 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    #3

    Thanks

    I'm also concerned that if it does work, am I going to have to go in and change the setting on the MacBook every time I go from using the monitor ffrom my PC to the MacBook?
     
  4. andy.barron macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Location:
    Bedford, England
    #4
    No problem. No it will remember the initial setup once you install the kvm.

    Trust me it will be seemless:)
     
  5. proof71991 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    #5
    Thanks a lot.
    I always worry before I do something.
     

Share This Page