Lacie 2Big Thunderbolt Raid Problem

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by matmont1305, Apr 13, 2015.

  1. matmont1305 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    #1
    Recently my external Lacie 2Big 6Gig Thunderbolt RAID stopped mounting. It's visible in About This Mac > System Report > Thunderbolt but not visible in Disk Utility or Finder. What I'm wondering is, could I install the two drives in the Lacie enclosure into a USB3 RAID enclosure without losing the data on them?

    Thanks in advance. :)
     
  2. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #2
    If you used disk utility to set up the RAID, you can put the disks into any enclosure and the Mac will mount them. Are they set up for RAID0, Mirrored, or JBO (two independent disks). If RAID0 and one of the drives died or was corrupted, you lost the data. Which OS are you using? I think I read about a Yositime drive disappearing quirk awhile ago.
     
  3. yukyuklee macrumors 6502

    yukyuklee

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3
    i replaced one of my drives twice, finally i got fed up and chucked both seagate in the trash and replaced them with wd nat (red drives) and yes the LaCie2big enclosure works with other drives also the wd uses less heat than those crap seagate. I only did this because my drive was out of warranty but dealing with LaCie is a big head ache worst customer service ever. This would be my last LaCie if this enclosure craps out.
     
  4. matmont1305 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    #4
    Thanks for the replies. :)

    I did set up the drive to RAID 1 (Mirrored) using Disk Utility on Mavericks. Thinking about it it may have been around the time I installed Yosemite that it stopped mounting? So you think it might be a Yosemite problem then?

    And to be clear if I buy a USB 3 RAID enclosure can I simply plug both the drives into the new enclosure and use it right away with no data loss?
     
  5. matreya macrumors 65816

    matreya

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #5
    Buying a USB3 RAID enclosure would most likely cause one or both of the drives to come up as unformatted...

    You're better off getting a disk dock and putting the bare drives (one at a time) into it.
     
  6. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #6
    Given that the mac is not mounting the drive set, that usually means an issue with both drives or directory. Did you try selecting the mirror set in Disk utility and running disk repair?

    When mirrored, you should be able to mount one of the drives and see all the data. Mirroring just duplicates the writes, i.e. data is written to both drives at the same time. So you would need one enclosure or, as suggested, a disk dock type device to plug the bare drive into and try one disk then the other alone. The one that won't mount is corrupted. If they both won't mount, then both are corrupted and you will need to resort to a data recovery tool or service, or to your backup data and restore.

    It is not unheard of for an OS or app problem to end up corrupting both pair of a mirror set, but its rare.
     
  7. matmont1305 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    #7
    Disk Utility doesn't show the drive at all. About This Mac > System Report > Thunderbolt reports it as a 2Big so the system knows it's there but won't mount it. This is on my late '14 iMac and MBP, both running the latest version of Yosemite (10.10.3).

    I'll try the Disk Dock routine and see if I can recover the data to an external drive. Thanks for all your help guys, I appreciate it. :)
     
  8. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #8
    System knows there is a TB enclosure there and connected, but says nothing about disks within the enclosure. If the mirror volume does not show up under System Report>Storage the computer does not know about the volume. If the disk drive hardware itself does not show up under one of the controllers in System Report>SATA/SATA Express, the disk or part of the enclosure probably died. You should also see SMART status for good disks.
     
  9. Shootn macrumors newbie

    Shootn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Location:
    London
    #9

Share This Page