LaCie backup and Airport Extreme problem

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by kingfish09, May 5, 2009.

  1. kingfish09 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    #1
    I installed AirPort Extreme for my iMac to replace an old wireless router. Now my external LaCie 'Time Machine' backup drive doesn't show up in peripherals when I try to reinstall it. (It went away somehow) It only tries to lead me to the wireless Apple product.

    I tested the drive on another mac and it worked fine.

    Anyone have anything on this?
     
  2. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #2
    This is why it doesn't work, its not supposed to. If you really want to do it however, run the Terminal command found on this site: here. Note that if its unreliable, that can't be helped.
     
  3. meagain macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    #3
    I'm confused. I thought the Airport allowed wireless backups like Time Capsule. I thought it wasn't able to initially with Leopard but that changed.
     
  4. designgeek macrumors 65816

    designgeek

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Location:
    "Town"
    #4
    They can't sell an expensive Time Capsule if you can get an AEBS and a my book TB drive for less. I was bummed when I found this out, though now I backup with Firewire and I just can't go back to USB and WAN.
     
  5. meagain macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    #5

Share This Page