lacie disk failure - help

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by kray, Sep 3, 2008.

  1. kray macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    #1
    I have a 1T lacie "big disk" that makes a loud whirring noise, then a clack, over and over again. It never gets itself mounted. I am thinking about pulling the disks and plugging them into a another machine, or disk enclosure. Is there any point to trying this or is the fact that I have 4 250G disks tied together to show up as a single 1T drive preclude any heroics?
     
  2. Bobbi Flekman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #2
    Judging on the explanation I'd say one of the disks is dead (or about to die). You might try the others in the enclosure and they will work, but the contents are gone forever. That is the problem with the RAID0 that Lacie's 1TB discs are.
     
  3. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #3
    The 1TB Big Disk from Lacie are notorious for dying very early. Because they are 2 500GB striped together it makes recovering any data very complicated.

    Lacie know about the problem but refuse to do anything about it. I had my BD for 3 months and it died and Lacie didnt want to know. So I had to pay for the data to be recovered which nearly cost more than the drive itself and then explain to Amazon how Lacie had treated me and because of Amazons kindness I got a refund. Because of Lacies ineptness and down right 'fraud' I bought another Iomega MiniMax 500GB that works great.

    Avoid Lacie at all costs. EVERYBODY I know that has had a Lacie product has had major problems. Lacie just aren't bothered as long as they have your money.

    :mad:

    Get the data off ASAP and get a refund on the BD anyway you can (I bet you it wont be via Lacie though.)
     
  4. mcristofori macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    #4
    My incredible story with a Raid LaCie Biggest Quadra Fw 800.

    I bought a Raid LaCie Biggest Quadra Fw 800 in June 2007 at Ktuin store(the biggest retailer of Mac and LaCie in Spain) in Madrid Calle Orense for 1079,00€. As soon as I took it out from the box and I connetted it to my Powerbook G4 and my MacPro the drive burn them out. Some smoke came out from the firewire socket. Three months later LaCie gave me a new Raid LaCie Biggets Quadra Fw 800.They didn’t pay anything for the damage caused to my 2 computers. Luckily the Macpro was still in warranty. Mac fixed it for free but still I had to pay 700€ to fix the Powerbook.
    Well, I put the brand new Raid LaCie Biggest Quadra Fw800 on my desk and I saved there all my last 5 years of work as a photographer. I also configurated it in raid 5. I didn’t make any back up because:
    1) I’m a stupid guy
    2) I had confidence on raid system (they make back up their own)
    3) Never I would have thought that a second Raid LaCie Biggest Quadra Fw800 will broke
    Exactly 9 months later the Raid LaCie Biggest Quadra Fw800 stopped working. The message of the computer was that it just can’t recognize the device.
    At Ktuin store in Madrid the kept the Raid LaCie Biggest Quadra Fw800 for 45 days passing programs to rebuild the volume lost. Also the LaCie sent a new box to put the 4 disks but…. nothing, it keeps not working. They told me that if I wanted to recover my datas I needed to bring it to a recovery lab but I would have lost my warranty on them. I had to choose datas or drives.
    Now I’m waiting news from my recovery lab praying that they will be able to recover my photos. The estimate is from a minimum of 1300€ (one disk broken) to a maximum of 7200€ (4 disks broken) (average of 2 estimates from Recovery Labs Madrid and Serman Madrid 12/08/08).
    So
    1) I lost a client who had bought a report and I couldn’t deliver him the photos
    2) I have client waiting for his photos since 45 days
    3) I have agencies waiting for my photos
    4) I payed 700€ to fix my powerbook
    5) I will have to pay between 1300 and 7200€ to recover datas
    6) I won’t have the right to take advantage of the warranty and I will have to buy new drives which sure won’t be LaCie
    Thank you very much LaCie
    Marco Cristofori
    www.marcocristofori.com
    Ps
    Today september 2nd, 2008 Recovery Labs Madrid confirmed what Serman Madrid had already said: my raid has been rebuilt at 35%.The estimate is 4500€+tva. Rebuilding occurred when the raid was in possession of Ktuin store in Madrid. The Recovery Labs Madrid technician said that this probably happened when they decided to change the box. The drives finding a new environment have started rebuilding automatically. The Ktuin technicians were working being coordinated by LaCie technicians.
     
  5. Jillby macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    #5
    LaCie triple 1TB 2x500GB RAID

    Arrrggghhh

    I'm stuck, too. What does anyone think if I removed the drives and insert in identical case, or new other brand case.. Don't have any power, but the disk wasn't making a noise.
    I had just put my complete backup on it and was devising a redundant backup, but didn't get that far as the drive stopped working. It's not the external power supply.
    Has anyone successfully solved this problem???

    Thanks,
    Jillby
     
  6. phildogginit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #6
    I've had two LaCie drives "fail" (clicking and flashing blue light), but it turned out to be the power supply. For others who have seen this problem, don't despair until you've tried a different power supply.
     
  7. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    Mine just crashed too!!! :( :mad:

    Bought the bloody thing a few months ago... It's a LaCie Biggest Quadra RAID 5, 4 x 1 TB.

    I had a Drive 1 failure a week ago, but I simply pulled the drive, and reinserted it. The RAID was rebuilt fine, and everything was working perfectly.
    But, this evening when I came home, the same annoying BEEP, BEEP, BEEP, came from the RAID storge device, and this time showing Drive 3 failure. So, I pressed the button to acknowledge (making a mental note to buy a new drive), and then a Drive 2 failure... and a Drive 4 failure...!!! :eek:

    Then a freaking RAID failure! :eek: Error code 2 orso! :mad:
    f****** h***

    Well, I'm setting up a new RAID 5 on it now (is about @ 25%), and I'll see what happens when its done. I'll have to create a new volume, and then I'll just return it to the store and ask my money back. I am not going to use one of these again. :(
    No possibility of getting my data again. Too expensive to try that. And TBO the data what was stored on it was a lot of older docs (the most recent and important ones I have duplicated to another volume...), tons of software, and lots and lots of movies: Own iMovie-created recordings, British comedies, documentaries, fun stuff,... I am going to miss them :(

    This is the bugger:
     

    Attached Files:

  8. AeroBar macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    #8
    Hi,

    My LaCie (designed by porsche) 250 gig drive started clicking and flashing before Christmas.
    Since it started, it powered up properly once on Christmas Eve but would not mount.
    I bought a new power supply. When I plugged it in first it powered up, but again did not mount.
    It has not powered up correctly since. It does not appear in System Profiler or Disk Utility, even those two times.
    Is it gone for good?

    Cheers.
     
  9. WishingDigiJosh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    #9
    Drive clicking is notoriously a bad sign, a classic symptom of a physically damaged disk. Clicking usually means that the drive heads are hitting some damage and then click backwards to try and restart a data read or write. If you have important data on it, you might want to get it to a data recovery specialist, but it can get expensive quickly... depends on the damage. FYI, LaCie is well-known for having hit or miss reliability.
     

Share This Page