LaCie RAID 0 -1 disk corrupt catalog file

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by komatsu, Sep 28, 2014.

  1. komatsu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    #1
    I have one Lacie RAID 0 disk
    Samsung X 2 (500Gb)

    Catalog file in one of the disk 0 appears to be corrupt.
    Disk 1 appears to be in prefect health.

    I have tried R-Studio Mac but to no avail.

    Anybody got any ideas?
     
  2. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #2
    RAID 0 is the most unreliable RAID type. A single disk goes south for any reason it takes the whole array with it.

    Also RAID isn't a backup solution, hopefully you made a backup.
     
  3. komatsu thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    #3
    Blueroom, that sounds like an answer from MS tech support! 100 per cent correct but not very useful...:)

    It is not my drive and no the user did not make a backu
     
  4. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #4
    You could take it to a data recovery service. But that'll likely cost much more than most folks are willing to pay.
     
  5. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #5
    And you tried the disk utility to repair the disk set, although R-Studio seems to be pretty good.?

    If its truly RAID 0 stripped, then you are hosed. That is like a single disk with every other sector corrupt. A data recovery service may be able to help some.

    If its RAID0 concatenated, you should be able to recover the data on one drive, the other is hosed. But R-Studio should have picked that up.
     
  6. g4cube macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #6
    You should use Disk Utility First Aid on the entire RAID volume, not the individual disks, as the files are split between each disk, including the catalog file.

    You cannot check each drive of a RAID-0 array individually.

    If one of the drives shows as bad, the entire array is hosed.
     

Share This Page