Lagging issue with Mac Book Air and external screen

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by furfing, Feb 20, 2015.

  1. furfing macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #1
    Hello All,

    Connected to my MBA (i5 2557M @ 1.70 Ghz + 4GB) i have an apple cinema display in DVI.

    Chrome and other application are lagging.

    Typing now in this forum the text is lagging as well...

    How to fix this issue ?

    thx a lot
     
  2. furfing thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #2
    I'd like to add that this issue doesn't occur if i reduce the resolution to 2048 from 2560 ...

    however in 2048*1152 things are really ugly...

    cheers
     
  3. furfing thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
  4. motrek macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #4
    How are you connecting DisplayPort to DVI and getting that 2560 resolution?

    If you are using Apple's DisplayPort to dual-link DVI adapter then that might be the problem. That thing has a bunch of electronics to decode the video signal and re-encode it.

    I see you are connecting to a Cinema Display. Do you have the 2010 model? That should have a DisplayPort connector and you should be using that instead of DVI.
     
  5. furfing, Feb 24, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2015

    furfing thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #5

    Hello Motrek,

    My screen has a Mini DisplayPort that directly connect to the Mini DisplayPort of my Mac book air. I do not use any connector or else which i dont have.

    The model i have is LED Cinema Display 27 - MC007LL/A - A1316

    http://www.amazon.com/Apple-MC007LL...UTF8&qid=1424846964&sr=1-1&keywords=MC007LL/A

    Thx for your help.
     
  6. motrek macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #6
    Ah okay, your original post said DVI so I was confused.

    I have no idea why it's slow, sorry. I have a similar setup and it works fine for me. :(
     
  7. furfing thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #7
    i see no pb. thx ! do u think it could be becasue i run on bootcamp windows 7 ?
     
  8. motrek macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #8
    No, my understanding of Bootcamp is that it just lets you dual-boot Windows, so if you aren't in Windows it shouldn't have an effect on anything.
     
  9. Significant1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    #9
    Why don't you check and boot up in OSX, if you still have it on the machine.
     

Share This Page