Lagging spaces with new macbook pro

Discussion in 'macOS' started by guitargoddsjm, Jul 9, 2010.

  1. guitargoddsjm macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Location:
    MA
    #1
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2AUB1DYpBX8

    This issue has been going on since I got my Macbook Pro... I'm not sure if it's a hardware thing or a software thing.

    This is the description I put on youtube:
    Specs: 15" i7 uMBP, OS X 10.6.4, 4gb ram, 500gb HDD (same as in signature)

    Gfx specs:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    How odd! You have one of the MacBook Pros that has dynamic GPU switching, so I suspect one of three things as the cause:
    1. Your Mac is confused - the running GPU and the GPU your Mac thinks it's using aren't the same. (Fix: Reset the PRAM - hold Apple + Option + P + R at startup, keep held until Mac bongs 3 times.)
    2. Your GPU drivers are outdated. (Fix: Update to Mac OS X 10.6.4.)
    3. Your GPU drivers are buggy. (Fix: Report the issue to Apple with their bug reporter tool; requires free registration.)
     
  3. guitargoddsjm thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Location:
    MA
    #3
    I wonder if this is the case... My MBP hasn't been getting anywhere near the 8-9hr battery life (more like 3-4hrs under light usage).

    I did use Migration Assistant to transfer everything from my early 2008 macbook to my macbook pro... But I think I noticed this issue before I migrated everything over.

    My specs are now listed in the OP

    edit: Tried resetting the PRAM, didn't do anything
     
  4. guitargoddsjm thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Location:
    MA
    #4
    Is anyone else having this issue? Obviously it's not a huge deal, but it's quite frustrating!
     
  5. strausd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    I do. I have a 2009 MBP with the 9600M GT. The exact thing has happened ever since I got Snow Leopard, it never happened with Leopard.
     

Share This Page