lagging videos and pin wheel? HELP!!

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by CBillups1, Dec 10, 2012.

  1. CBillups1 macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #1
    as of late my computer has been lagging while watching videos and loaded lots of tabs. ill even get the pinwheel a bunch of times a long with the stop script stuff.

    my laptop never use to lag/pause on youtube videos.

    anyway i can fix it?

    the Macbook is the 2008 unibody aluminum 13 macbook.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
  3. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #3
    10.6.8
    2gb of ram

    not sue what to do with activity monitor. shows stuff open that im using and a bunch of stuff i dont even know..
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    Does the guide I linked to not help? Here it is again, and it should at least show you how to use it properly and read CPU and RAM usage:

    Can you make a screenshot and attach it to your next post?

    And again, what browser and Flash version do you use?

     
  5. CBillups1, Dec 10, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2012

    CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
  7. CBillups1, Dec 10, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2012

    CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #7
    i dont have money or want to open up my macbook :(

    not sure why its using so much RAM, i only have Firefox open that i use and sometimes itunes.

    ----------

     
  8. ChrisMan287 macrumors 6502

    ChrisMan287

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Location:
    NY.
  9. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #9


    for what? i dont even use that many programs or open that many! most of the time just firefox. I just deleted weatherbug since i dont use it.

    firefox and itunes is all i use.
     
  10. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #10
    As you can see from your screenshot, Firefox is using 768.6 MB of RAM, which is 37.5 % of your available RAM*. That is due to lots of tabs, as you mentioned in your original post.

    Depending on what MacBook you have, you can get 4 GB (two 2 GB modules) for less than 30 USD or can get 8 GB (two 4 GB modules) for less than 50 USD.
    You might also just get one 4 GB module and have 5 GB RAM, as many older MacBooks can support 6 GB of RAM.

    To find out, what exact Mac model you use, click :apple: > About This Mac > More Info > Hardware Overview:
    [​IMG]
    To see a more elaborate image explaining the above steps, click here.
    To see a more detailed video tutorial showing the above steps, click here (2 MB, 23s, .mp4).​



    *
    What is RAM? - measured again in MB and GB


    PS: For images wider than 800 pixel, please use the TIMG tags instead of the IMG tags by just adding a T in front of the [IMG] and closing [/IMG] tag, like [img] and [/img] to prevent horizontal scrolling.
    You can use the [​IMG] to edit your images and add the Ts.
     
  11. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #11


    says macbook 5,1
     
  12. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #12
    Then it is an Aluminium MacBook and can take at least 6 GB of 204-pin DDR3 SO-DIMM RAM RAM, with a boot room update it can take up to 8 GB.
    Take a look at the RAM guide I linked to and do again:

    And why did you remove the screenshots?
     
  13. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #13

    didnt think they were needed.

    why is my computer using all this ram now? especially firefox? i see a lot fo stuff open but i dont know what any of it is aside from 3-4

    ----------

    anywhere i can find the ram for cheap for my macbook? i want 6gb
     
  14. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #14
    But you refer to them, thus they are needed, as they are now only accessible via my quotes of your post and clicking the Image link.

    Probably due to an update or using more tabs?
    Since you did not select to show "All Processes", you only see a third or half of all the running processes.
    Many processes are needed by the OS, some can be turned off via Login Items and other preferences (see the "Performance Tips" link I provided earlier).
    You could also sort by CPU and Real Mem to see, what application uses the most CPU and RAM, since sorting by name does not provide you with an easy view to the resource hungry applications, especially when you only view "My Processes" instead of "All Processes" (as recommended in that Activity Monitor guide.
    Newegg and eBay, but know, to get to 6 GB you have to get one 2 GB and one 4 GB module, as your Mac comes with two 1 GB modules.
     
  15. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #15
  16. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #16
    You should probably check here first to make sure, any RAM will work (the RAM you linked to has a CL of 11).
    Also know, that the Mac you have uses 1066 MHz RAM, thus it might not work with 1600 MHz RAM, though my 2009 MBP came with 1066 MHz RAM and now uses 1333 MHz RAM without problems.

    Then you have to look for one 4 GB and one 2 GB module, though the item you linked to, does not make it clear, if it is one 4 GB module or 4 GB RAM via two 2 GB modules, though a search seems to point to the former (one 4 GB module).

    Unless you cannot operate a screwdriver, you should not be worried. It is quite easy and over soon. You can also check YouTube for many, many "macbook change RAM" videos to get yourself acquainted with the procedure.

    To learn more about Mac OS X: Helpful Information for Any Mac User by GGJstudios
     
  17. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #17
    i have no idea about which one to chose? ill even buy one on new egg, ill take a 4gb as long as its not expensive.
     
  18. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #18
    This one, this one and even this one (if you update the Boot Rom as explained here) should work.
     
  19. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #19
    [/COLOR]
    that article was confusing, my boot rom is MB51.007D.B03 so do i need to update it?...
     
  20. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #20
  21. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #21
    nevermind the found i found, i will be buying either of those you posted but was just gonna buy the 8gb. i assume with my boot rom, im good to go?
     
  22. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #22
    Come again please. :confused:
    I do not know, since I do not know your Boot Rom version. Check yourself via that link I provided (again here of course, since I posted plenty of links).
     
  23. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #23

    LOL

    i meant, i would be buying the ones you posted.

    and my boot rom is MB51.007D.B03
     
  24. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #24
    Therefore:

    Download and install and follow the instructions of the installer.

    Then check again for the Boot Rom version.
     
  25. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #25
    i think the boot rom is fine, i just ran the update and says I DO NOT NEED THIS UPDATE!
     

Share This Page