Laggy cursor movement on 40-inch TV

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by pianoman88, Nov 6, 2017.

  1. pianoman88 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #1
    Been running twin Dell U2412M displays with MacPro with D700. Graphics. I added a Samsung 40" UHD TV using HDMI today and am seeing a lag in cursor movement.

    Is there anything I can do apart from removing a Dell monitor to speed things up?
    I have already reduced the resolution.
     
  2. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #2
    Upgrade to a modern video card? ;)
     
  3. pianoman88 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #3
    Good One. Discovered that switching to mechanical mouse was much faster than wireless trackpad. Much faster movement. Using with Logic X to view tracks.
     
  4. h9826790, Nov 6, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2017

    h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    1) the nMP only has HDMI 1.4. So, for UHD signal, it can only deliver 30Hz.

    2) That's a TV, not monitor. The input lag is usually high. Try to set your TV to computer / gaming mode, and switch off all special effects. This can usually greatly reduce the inout lag to a level that won't affect the operation (However, 30Hz still a bit painful to use the mouse).

    If your problem is the mouse pointer speed and acceleration. Then I am sure you can solve it by changing settings or by using some mouse enhancement software.
     
  5. pianoman88 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #5
    Pretty much fixed by music mechanical mouse and adjusting speed. Turning off one of the monitors didn't make any difference.
     
  6. pianoman88 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #6
    Could this be eliminated using a Thunderbolt-to-HDMI cable?
     
  7. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    Yes, however, you will need a mDP to HDMI 2.0 ACTIVE adaptor. It must be 2.0, and must be active. Otherwise, you won't get UHD 60Hz on the output.
     
  8. DPUser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #8
    I can confirm. I am running a Samsung 40" 4k TV from an RX460 using just such a setup. SwitchResX software was required to get 60Hz to the monitor with Sierra .2; not sure it is still necessary under current OS.

    The other important thing was as also mentioned above: use the TV in "Gaming Mode"; lag is significantly reduced thereby.
     
  9. mikas macrumors regular

    mikas

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Location:
    Finland
    #9
    Bought a used Dell P2715Q today. My Gigabyte RX 570 with DP, DVI, HDMI gives only 30Hz with HDMI, and that gives a bit laggy feeling I realized.

    Otherwise I like this monitor a lot. It's great with HidPI mode, and almost all the other resolutions in between 1920x1080 and 3840x2160 are usable too. Depends on the use case and on the programs that are used obviously.

    I found a solution to up refresh rates (30->60Hz) allready, from the manufacturers site, The Dells. I have to disable HDMI 1.4 support, so the monitor reverts to something else, which is, strangely enough, HDMI 2.0.

    I am gonna try this tomorrow.

    Maybe there is something similar for other displays or TVs too. I mean if they are new enough for built in HDMI 2.0 support, like this one was. It was just not enabled by default.

    Of course I can get 60Hz from RX 570 displayport too, but just wanted to give my poor cents in.

    I'm definitely going to keep this display.
     
  10. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #10
    AFAIK, the direct HDMI 2.0 support in MacOS is very broken. Even all your card, monitor, cable can do HDMI 2.0. You may still need SwitchResX to make it works.

    In fact, using DP -> HDMI 2.0 active adaptor may be easier, because the MacOS is now actually handling DP, and will give you 4K 60Hz automatically.
     
  11. mikas, Nov 7, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2017

    mikas macrumors regular

    mikas

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Location:
    Finland
    #11
    Ok. I'll report my experiences later, thanks for the warning.
    I can use DP-port for this though, and use my two HP Z27i's with the leftover ports.

    RX 580 8GB would have one DP-port more, and double the memory. A ~300€ new gigabyte 580 is in consideration at the moment. Just need to consider my wallet too at the times..

    edit. I thought I've got high speed HDMI cable enough - but not really quite sure..
    edit2. didn't want to hijack the thread, so I took this to more on-topic thread: GTX980 3 monitors - weirdness
     
  12. pianoman88 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #12
    Purchased
    Mini DisplayPort 1.2 to HDMI 2.0a Active Adapter 4K@60Hz

    Didn't make a difference. No 60Hz option. Cursor actually seems slower than going through HDMI port.
     
  13. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #13
    If you hold option key and then select "Scale". Does it let you choose 60Hz?
    Screen Shot 2017-11-09 at 14.43.37.jpg
    If no, try SwitchResX.
     
  14. pianoman88 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #14
    Thanks. Already tried scaled.
    Tried SwitchRes. Nothing useful for this particular screen.
     
  15. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #15
    did you try another cable?

    Or did you check the setting on the TV?
     
  16. DPUser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #16
    Well, it sure worked for me with my RX460, after using SwitchResX to get the required settings. My display is a Samsung 40" 4k TV, Model U6290F
     
  17. pianoman88 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #17
    Using Mac Pro 6,1 with D700.
    I assume it's an issue with the D700.
    Touch pad slow; I increased the speed to the mechanical MS mouse and it's much better. Moved back to HDMI output. returned the active adapter. Only had two 60 hz options with Switch Res.
     
  18. William Payne macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Location:
    Wanganui, New Zealand.
    #18
    Out of curiosity what is your mouse speed set at for cursor speed. In my experience apples stock cursor speed is obnoxiously slow, first thing I do on a Mac is set it to full speed.
     
  19. pianoman88 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #19
    trackpad is full speed - still too slow.
    Ordered a new high-speed cable - 60Hz.
    Other was new, but I don't recall if it was 60 Hz or not - Says Club
     
  20. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #20
    You may use something like MagicPrefs to adjust your mouse / trackpad speed.
     

Share This Page