Lamp style iMac start-up problem

Discussion in 'macOS' started by crashxb, Sep 17, 2010.

  1. crashxb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Location:
    West Coast, USA
    #1
    I have a lamp style iMac and when I boot it up I get the flashing folder from the mac face to the question mark. I booted it up with the OS X DVD, but a padlock comes up. I have never set a password for this computer, except to login, and that password isn't working. Is there a way around this? I've tried everything I can think of.
     
  2. d88co88 macrumors 6502

    d88co88

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    MN
    #2
    Remove the stick of ram in the panel on the bottom of your iMac. As for the question mark, that is either corrupt system files or a dead hard drive.
     
  3. crashxb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Location:
    West Coast, USA
    #3
    Alright, well removing the ram did absolutely nothing that I can see. I'm still looking at the padlock. What exactly does the padlock mean? I just need to be able to boot up the computer with the OS X DVD so I can repair the HD.
     
  4. d88co88 macrumors 6502

    d88co88

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    MN
    #4
    You're still getting the padlock? Changing the amount of ram in your computer is supposed to get rid of that. The padlock I believe is a firmare password.
     
  5. CubeHacker macrumors 65816

    CubeHacker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #5
    Can you take a picture of the padlock? I've never seen such a thing before.

    But i've never heard of removing RAM to disable a password before.
     
  6. crashxb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Location:
    West Coast, USA
    #6
    [​IMG]

    I removed the ram and restarted the computer and still got this screen. I put the ram back, same thing.
     
  7. CubeHacker macrumors 65816

    CubeHacker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #7
    Ok after doing some research, this is what I found online:

    Force Removing Password Protection

    1) Add or remove DIMMs to change the total amount of RAM in the computer.

    2) Then, the PRAM must be reset 3 times. (Command + Option + P + R).

    Please note that I cannot vouch that this does or does not work. But its all I was able to find.
     
  8. crashxb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Location:
    West Coast, USA
    #8
    How do I go about removing the DIMMs? I'm not too familiar with the lamp style mac hardware.
     
  9. CubeHacker macrumors 65816

    CubeHacker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #9
    Apparently what you did before to remove the bottom stick of ram was correct. But the previous poster forgot to mention the second step.
     

Share This Page