Resolved LAN Teaming on Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by FlatEarth, Aug 3, 2012.

  1. FlatEarth, Aug 3, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2012

    FlatEarth macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    #1
    Greetings fellas,

    I want to connect my "2012" Mac Pro to my Windows workstation, which also has 2 Gigabit Ethernet ports via two Crossover cables I found lying around. What steps do I have to undertake to team the links on the Mac Pro?

    P.S.: It's just an experiment, inb4 "ar u dump? use firewire!"


    Cheers,

    Sami

    Edit: I mean "aggregate the links on the Mac Pro", thanks to Sammich

    Edit: Best answer below. Thanks a lot!
     
  2. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #2
    I don't know how to set it up exactly but the term you're looking for us link aggregation.
     
  3. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    System Prefs / networking.

    Click the cog button.

    Manage Virtual Interfaces

    Click +

    New Link Aggregate.

    You'll then have the option to select the ethernet interfaces to aggregate. Never tried to do this without a network switch, though, so you may have some fiddling around to do...
     

Share This Page