LAN Test

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by eyoungren, Dec 5, 2018.

  1. eyoungren macrumors Core

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #1
    Was poking around in other areas of MacRumors today and ran across Helios LAN Test, which is an app to test the speed of your network.

    Ordinarily I wouldn't bring it up, but I know a bunch of people around here are in to benchmarking AND OS9.

    And Helios has LAN Test for OS9.

    https://www.helios.de/web/EN/products/LanTest.html

    Log in to their server (the details are farther down the page), open the LAN Test folder and you'll find the folder for the OS9 app.
     
  2. AphoticD macrumors 68000

    AphoticD

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    Have you benchmarked your network? Are you primarily setup on gigabit now?

    I cut my physical network down to just 3 1000bT Macs (iMac 2009, MP 2008 and a G5), along with a 100bT Mac mini running off a 5-port gigabit switch. Everything else is setup to run wireless.

    It would be interesting to benchmark performance between OS 9 and several OS X iterations. My gut feeling would be that performance would increase with each version. But Leopard overhead was apparent with disk benchmarks (Xbench), so I wonder if there is an impact here also (compared to Tiger).
     
  3. eyoungren thread starter macrumors Core

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #3
    I've run it once on my MBP just to test it. But my MBP is on WiFi so I wasn't really gauging things.

    Probably run some tests on the Quad and the 2.3DC later (both with dual 1000 connections).
     
  4. AphoticD macrumors 68000

    AphoticD

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    Do the G5s support link aggregation like that? (802.3ad)

    If so then they could theoretically push around 2Gb/sec of data - although that would be higher than the SATA 1.5Gb throughput.
     
  5. eyoungren thread starter macrumors Core

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #5
    Alas, no. I've tried. And they will bond, but the connection drops and no matter what I do it shows as offline. I believe the problem is that my router needs to support this somehow. But it hasn't been anything I've been willing to track down.
     

Share This Page

4 December 5, 2018