Landing Page Noob

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by MattSepeta, Oct 5, 2009.

1. MattSepeta macrumors 65816

MattSepeta

Greetings!

I have always been the graphics guy at my company, and was recently saddled with creating landing pages. I am completely new to this, and have tried researching my question on the web, to no avail.

What would a typical landing page dimensions be?

I have found all sorts of conflicting information on the most popular monitor resolution, telling me it is either 800x600 or 1024x768.

This has a significant affect on the fold location, so I was wondering what you Web folk typically do.

-We are going to be making fixed size windows, so the pages will not scale.

Thanks for any input guys, excuse my ignorance in this field!
    :)

2. Cabbit macrumors 68020

Cabbit

Before i can assist more can you explain what a Landing page is ?

3. MattSepeta thread starter macrumors 65816

MattSepeta

Conversion Page

It is going to be a series of independent pages that a user/customer will end up at as a result of a search engine result, clicking a banner ad, etc...

A concise, one page/fast conversion page. With a buy now button.

Such as.... http://www.cdfnetworks.com/images/lp3.jpg

4. Consultant macrumors G5

Consultant

for most popular display size = check your company's web site log.

5. MattSepeta thread starter macrumors 65816

MattSepeta

Perfect!

Thank you VERY much. After stumbling around google analytics for a bit I found it.

Results shocked me, actually, considering we market to parents of pre-schoolers, as well as grandparents.

1280x1024 was 1st
    followed by 1280x800, then 1440x900.

Interesting.

Again, thanks. I had no idea it was so easy to access that information. :)

6. Consultant macrumors G5

Consultant

Glad you found the info. =)

One thing is for certain. Except for mobiles, no one uses screens smaller than 1024x768 at this time.

7. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

angelwatt