Landline phone with Imac

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by attarha, Mar 31, 2016.

  1. attarha macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    #1
    I would like to use my landline (home phone) with the iMac and be able to use my contacts to dial up their phone number, I also would like to receive calls as well.

    Please advise me of what hardware and software do I need
    thanks
     
  2. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #2
    Answers and possibilities may depend on which service provides your "landline". Who is it?
     
  3. attarha thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    #3
    I would like to dial from my contact and able to receive calls, or basically use the iMac as a speaker phone
     
  4. attarha thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    #4
    Hello Brian;
    What do you suggest?
    All I need is to use the mac to dial phone numbers from my contact and answer incoming calls
     
  5. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #5
    Through your existing landline? If yes, then who is the service with?
     
  6. attarha thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    #6
    I live in Saudi Arabia the phone infrastructure was built y at&t
     
  7. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #7
    I don't think you can use the Mac for "handsfree" conversations when on a traditional landline. A VOIP home phone service usually can be set up via an app such as "Telephone".

    With a traditional landline, you can set up a USB modem to dial from your computer but you'll have to speak and listen through an actual telephone.

    See the information at the Dialectic website for an example.
     

Share This Page