Language Change

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by AndrewCjDuong, Feb 7, 2010.

  1. AndrewCjDuong macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    #1
    I just purchased a MacBook Pro from Taiwan. Reason I bought it here was cuz I got an amazing price but the only problem is that I'd really rather have english instead.

    So I've changed most of the language settings and now most is english but the only thing thats still chinese is the log-in screen. Not sure how to change that but if anyone could help me that would be great. Thanks a bunch!
     
  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    This may be an old article, but it should still work somewhat the same.

    link
     
  3. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #3
    System Preferences - Accounts - Login Options - Show input menu in login window.

    This will give you the option to change the language for the login screen when you are viewing the login screen. You should only need to do this once and then you can turn the option off.

    edit:


    That contains some pretty drastic steps and is not applicable to the current (or indeed anywhere near current) versions

     
  4. AndrewCjDuong thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    #4
    Wow fast reply. Thanks everyone. Just a quick newb question. Is there any way to log off quickly or lock the computer. For example, on a pc you press windows button and L. Anything like that?

    Thanks again!
     
  5. AndrewCjDuong thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    #5
    Ok so I tried that and it only gives you the input language. It still shows everything in chinese.
     
  6. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #6
    Did you close and reopen your applications? If not then they will still be in Chinese.
     
  7. AndrewCjDuong thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    #7
    No. Everythings already in english. The only thing thats chinese is the login screen. That's what I want to change to english.
     
  8. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #8
    Run this in Terminal, you need to have admin privileges:
    Code:
    sudo /System/Library/CoreServices/Language Chooser.app/Contents/MacOS/Language Chooser
    It will pop up a window where you can then choose the language. Confirmed working in 10.6.
     
  9. AndrewCjDuong thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    #9
    Il enter that and this is what I get:

    WARNING: Improper use of the sudo command could lead to data loss
    or the deletion of important system files. Please double-check your
    typing when using sudo. Type "man sudo" for more information.

    To proceed, enter your password, or type Ctrl-C to abort.


    and then when I try and type the password nothing works.
     
  10. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #10
    Are you logged in as an admin? If not, it won't work.
     
  11. AndrewCjDuong thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    #11
    I'm pretty sure I am. There's only one account on my mac.
     
  12. AndrewCjDuong thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    #12
    Ok. So I logged in as root. Then tried entering that in terminal. The terminal application doesn't seem to work though. Nothing I type will work.
     

Share This Page