Language Database App for Mac

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by AusMacFan, Apr 30, 2011.

1. AusMacFan, Apr 30, 2011
    Last edited: May 1, 2011

AusMacFan macrumors member

I'm currently studying French and I want to find an app that allows me to create a database of French words and their English translations. Ideally, I would like to be able to filter these words based on things like alphabetical order (kind of like iTunes) and be able to search for them. Essentially, a translation dictionary app that I can make additions to.

At the moment I generally just use online French dictionaries, but with an app like this I would be able to focus more on what I learn throughout the course which will come in handy in exams and assignment where I am expected to show my knowledge on the things that we learnt in class.

Any help would be much appreciated.

2. TonyK macrumors 6502a

TonyK

There is Bento which I think will meet your needs. There is a desktop and iOS version with each having to be purchased separately. But, update ONLY the desktop. The onetime I attempted to update the iOS version and sync, I lost the changes. :(

3. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

TuffLuffJimmy

So you're looking for a modifiable translation dictionary application. I would change your title since what you're looking for is a lot more specific than an application that uses a database. I can't begin to explain to you how many applications use some kind of database.

4. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

Byki is one of the tools the State Department uses to train people in languages. I know it has customizable "flashcards", but I'm not sure if it has a "database." You could download the trial and see.

http://www.byki.com/

5. mysterytramp macrumors 65816

mysterytramp

An app specific for learning a language makes sense, but Bento also would do a great job. And Numbers as well.

mt

6. AusMacFan thread starter macrumors member

Sorry about that, I changed the title.