Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dololjim

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 11, 2010
So I am a student who will be headed to university in September. As such, I will need a computer. I would like it to be portable, but also capable off running games such as Civilization 5, Star Craft, and perhaps Mass Effect. When I look at Apple's line up, there doesn't seem to be anything that much attractive.

The Macbook only has integrated graphics and a Core2Duo.

The 13inch MacBook Pro is the same as the MacBook except you are paying $200 for 2 GB of ram and a metal case.

The 15inch MacBook Pro only offers a crappy graphics card. Not only that, but they won't let you purchase the card with 512 MB of ram without getting the most expensive computer.

I have also looked into the desktops. The mac mini offers, again, nothing spectacular. The iMac is severely underpowered for its cost.

So what are my options? Would any of these computers be remotely acceptable for a couple games? I am not really keen on switching platforms since all of my software is already for OS X. Is it possible to purchase something for cheap (under $1000) that could be able to run a few games? Just started looking into this I thought I would hear what you guys say.

GoCubsGo

macrumors Nehalem
Feb 19, 2005
A couple of things come to mind, first, what are you studying? While I realize that students going off to college are thinking about things like what games they can play on their shiny new machine I ask what you're studying because that may play a part in any answer. Notwithstanding, the 13" MBP can run Civ but not to the point where I think you'll enjoy it. If you don't want the 15" MBP with the graphics card that you need/want then unfortunately I think you may need to look elsewhere.

I do know that people are playing that game on the base 15" MBP. You may want to search these forums to see for yourself.