Laptop for college?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by iperson21, Jan 22, 2012.

1. iperson21 macrumors regular

Hey guys, I was just thinking about college, and my computer situation is a little weird.
    I currently have an 11" MBA, 128gb ssd and 4gb ram. I also have a junk PC that I use to mess with my android phone, that is like 1.8ghz core 2 duo and 2gb ram, 160gb hd.
    I'm a sophomore in high school, and I want to go to stanford for computer science.
    Would my MBA suffice for my needs in college? If not, what computer would you recommend? My dad also said, if I get accepted and go to stanford, he'll buy me any computer I want as a congratulations gift. So what would you say?
    Please don't hate if you think im spoiled or something...

And i know this is in the MBP section, and not the MBA section, but since a lot of the posts in this section seem to be from college students, i decided to put it in here.

2. mobilehaathi macrumors G3

mobilehaathi

So what's the problem? Take your dad up on the generous offer if you get into Stanford. There are also things called computer labs, so I wouldn't worry too much.

3. wrinkster22 macrumors 68030

wrinkster22

I would keep using your current computers until right before you leave for university.
    I would get a mac desktop, such as the iMac. They are very powerful and in 2 years it may get even better.
    An iMac in your room/dorm and your air for note taking in class.
    I would wait until the last minute seeing as you are in grade 10 and there likely will be an upgrade soon.

4. pacman7331 macrumors regular

pacman7331

Just get an iPad for class.

Keep the computer at home.

5. dukebound85 macrumors P6

dukebound85

If you got into Stanford, I would decline. Why? Cheaper to stay in state and presitgious schools mean more at the Graduate level than undergrad

On topic, id just get a mac mini and supplement it with your current air

6. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

grapes911