Laptop help? (Maybe netbook)

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by pranavss11, Apr 24, 2009.

1. pranavss11 macrumors 6502

Hello,

My gf's birthday is coming up and I was looking for a small laptop for her so that she can carry it around (preferrably a netbook as she loves those tiny things). She only uses her desktop computer for surfing the internet, some word editing, watching movies, listening to music and chatting with her friends.

I am new to this whole netbook thing and was hoping some experts could set me up with the perfect netbook for her. I also don't want to go over the top with my spending as I just got my hours cut at work (and I don't want to have to ask my dad to pay for my girlfriend's gift; he's already paying my college fees).

Thanks
    -P

2. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

Scarlet Fever

MSI Wind? From what I've heard, it's a really nice netbook, and it's also pretty easy to put Mac OS X on it.

3. upaymeifixit macrumors 6502a

upaymeifixit

I agree.

I agree. You WILL want to install OSX on it though.

4. pranavss11 thread starter macrumors 6502

Ofcourse. I'll take a look at it thanks. I dunno if it's against the rules, but can anyone point me to a guide to install OSX on it?

EDIT: Nm got it on google xD.

Anyone else have any other recommendations?

5. ab2650 macrumors 6502a

Don't get an Eee. It sucked.

6. chrono1081 macrumors 604

chrono1081

? I love the eee. I like it lots better then the wind. I own three.

7. J&JPolangin macrumors 68030

...if OSX isn't a priority, I'd go with the ASUS eeePC1000HE model at only $389 = ~9.5 hours of battery without wireless/BT on and still ~6 hours with it on...

8. clyde2801 macrumors 601

clyde2801

I'd suggest a lenovo ideapad s10 for a couple of reasons:

1. Better build quality than the wind. It looks and feels like the baby brother to the ibm thinkpad, which it is. Compact and solid.