laptop recognizes iphones but itunes doesn't

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by hiit'sme, May 25, 2015.

  1. hiit'sme macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    #1
    I have 2 iphones, (4s and 6 plus) and my laptop (Win7) recognizes both of them (they show up in My Computer) but itunes doesn't see either one of them. Here's what I've done so far:

    - uninstalled all apple programs (except for quicktime, should that be included too?) and reinstalled the latest version of itunes

    - updated the driver through device manager

    - adding to the environment variable path, as explained on this page: http://iexplorer-support.macroplant...ener-process"-is-appearing-how-do-i-fix-this-

    - tried another computer, also with the latest itunes, both phones are recognized just fine

    I'd rather use my laptop instead of the other computer, is there any hope?

    (Edit: I don't know if this helps but I also have phontunes and it's saying "Please connect device" even though it's connected)
     
  2. rpetunderclass macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
  3. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
  4. bbrks macrumors 65816

    bbrks

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
  5. hiit'sme thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    #5
    Hi, thanks for your responses. I've tried all the above, but that doesn't solve the problem. I only have 3 usb ports so there isn't much choice, but I don't think it's the usb port or cable because the phones show up in windows and I can get the photos. I did click "Trust" on that "Trust this computer" window.
     
  6. BigMcGuire macrumors demi-god

    BigMcGuire

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #6
    I had this problem with my desktop a few weeks ago. No matter what I did, the computer saw the iPhone but iTunes didn't. A restart to my desktop (Windows 8.1) fixed this.

    Seems way too simple but have you restarted your laptop (vs just let it sleep)?
     
  7. hiit'sme thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    #7
    Hi, thanks for the suggestion, I've shut down and restarted several times, even unplugged it and took the battery out for a while.
     

Share This Page