Large HD Icon at startup before Apple logo

Discussion in 'iMac' started by aarongibson, Jul 3, 2008.

  1. aarongibson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    #1
    Hi,

    I've just switched on my iMac 20" 2.0GHz Dual Core running 10.5.3

    After the chime, a largish HD icon with a small up arrow in a circle appeared before the apple logo on the grey background at startup. Does anyone know what this means?

    On another point, my keyboard won't give me a capital 'W' character when I use the shift key. I only get it when I use caps lock. Same thing happens for 'Q' on my PowerBook. Both are running Leopard. I thought it was the keyboard so I took it back to the Apple store, but the new one has the same problem so it is something to do with the Mac. Anyone have any thoughts or similar experiences?

    Thanks in advance. Apologies if these questions have already appeared on forums/threads elsewhere.



    Aaron
     
  2. trentiles macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #2
    For the HD icon upon startup: Go to System Preferences and then Startup Disk. Re-choose your OSX install HD and hit restart.

    That should hopefully take care of that.
     
  3. aarongibson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    #3
    Have they changed the size of the icon because it is not like the hd icon of old, this is a completely new one I have never seen. Also, my Frontrow has slowed to a stodgy crawl and my mighty mouse seems to be all over the place!

    This is my 4th Mac and this new iMac has presented me with the mosts quirks so far!
     
  4. trentiles macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #4
    The hard drive icon that you are seeing upon startup should only show up if you have bootcamp installed. That screen you are seeing is the screen where you would choose what hd/partition to boot off of. It's not a new icon, its just an icon that you have never seen before.
     
  5. aarongibson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    #5
    Ah,

    I installed bootcamp ages ago, and then started using VMware, odd that it has just chosen to start showing up now.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page