Larger Hard Drive in AppleTV? 500gb?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Sean Dempsey, Mar 9, 2008.

  1. Sean Dempsey macrumors 68000

    Sean Dempsey

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #1
    My cousin claims he can flawlessly put a 500gig hard drive in an AppleTV, but I can't find any guides or resources on the net to do so.

    Without going into details, is it possible to swap the Apple TV's drive for something much larger without effecting it's operation?
     
  2. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #2
    Unless he's somehow managed to squeeze in a PATA to SATA bridge, there's no way he has a 500 gig drive in there. Besides, the first one just shipped out to OEMs last week (Samsung Spinpoint M6). He's yanking your chain, I suspect.
     
  3. blakewh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    #3
    Yes you can

    http://www.engadget.com/2007/03/23/how-to-upgrade-the-drive-in-your-apple-tv/

    Western Digital makes the 500G drive you want, I have 2 on the way, under $100 each on ebay. Look for seller Oyen Digital.
     
  4. JonHimself macrumors 68000

    JonHimself

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #4
  5. blakewh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    #5
  6. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #6
    Dude, thats a sata drive, the atv needs a pata drive natively, without a pata to sata bridge that drive is worthless for an atv, as caveman said.

    lol. so I hope that along with the two drives you have on the way you have two bridges on the way as well. ;)
     
  7. blakewh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    #8
  8. suburbiton macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #9
    Surely the ATV has some sort of OS on it - so when you replace the HDD, how does it know what to do and how to do it?!
     
  9. JonHimself macrumors 68000

    JonHimself

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #10
    I'm not sure what to take from that link? I think I read through most of it but I'm not sure what you're referencing in it? The drive you bought won't connect to the cables in the Apple TV without a cable in between.
     
  10. JonHimself macrumors 68000

    JonHimself

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #11
    It's in the guide that's posted on the forum (and I think there's a link to engadget in this thread).. basically it involves cloning the drive already in there and then copying it to the new drive (The OS)... I'm sure that there is a better explanation, but yes, there is an OS and it has to be copied to the new drive.
     
  11. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #12
    How are you going to convert the Apple TV's ATA6 interface into a SATA interface?
     
  12. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #13
    and it won't work without a bridge. not sure what your link is supposed to reference.
     
  13. paduck macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #14
    The short answer is that the ATV doesn't and hence will not work if you just put a new drive in. You have to do a little work with the drive connected to another computer. The link is at the top of the forum page, but also:

    Original thread with directions:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=589208

    MacRumors Guide:

    http://guides.macrumors.com/Apple_TV_250GB_Hard_Drive_Upgrade
     
  14. ecifer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    #15
    Think I found a valid converter...

    Unfortunately I don't have the ability to test it yet...

    But I found this:
    http://www.cooldrives.com/2sahadrtoide.html

    That's a 44pin -> SATA converter... since it's 44 pin IDE, it doesn't require any external power source. So, I believe that what would work would just be:

    AppleTV PATA Cable -> Converter -> SATA 500GB Drive (such as http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.asp?DriveID=506)

    The only thing I'm unsure of is the PHYSICAL size of the adapter... it's small, (69x14x17.5mm), I don't know if it's small enough to fit in the AppleTV, and I'm a little hesitant to spend the $120 (Drive+Adapter).

    Any souls out there braver than me? (Or any souls out there w/ $20 and a spare 2.5" SATA drive?)
     
  15. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #16
    Two of us have tried it and it doesn't work with the Apple TV, unfortch.
     
  16. richyscot1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Location:
    Derby, UK
    #17

    Attached Files:

  17. ecifer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    #18
    Any specifics as to why? Not enough power over the cable, or just a Mac OS incompatibility?
     
  18. richyscot1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Location:
    Derby, UK
    #19
    Sorry I should have explained a little more. If you click on the link in my last reply, I'm detailing what's wrong there (to save me having to write it twice......as these posts are pretty similar).

    My Apple TV is working fine, in fact I'm exactly half way through syncing 361Gb, the problem I have is fitting it into the Apple TV enclosure.

    Here's the post where I have gone into a little more detail.......http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=683178
     

Share This Page