Larger than 2TB drives in new Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by lbeck, Nov 13, 2010.

  1. lbeck macrumors 6502

    lbeck

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #1
    Can you actually put a 3TB drive in the new mac pros? I know the specs say up to 2TB drives but i was wondering if Id be able to use a 3 or 4 TB drive in my mac pro as those sizes become more readily available.
     
  2. rtrt, Nov 13, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2011
  3. lbeck thread starter macrumors 6502

    lbeck

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #3
    Do you have a link for that info?

    So you have a 3TB seagate internal drive in your mac pro and it runs perfect?
     
  4. rtrt, Nov 13, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2011
  5. lbeck thread starter macrumors 6502

    lbeck

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #5
  6. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    62°C? That's just insane. IIRC even the WD Black I got in bay 4 hardly got over 45° during the day.

    However, instead of ripping apart the external Seagate, I'd rather buy an internal 3TB WD Green. Not only because I prefer WD over Seagate, but also because you get 3 years of warranty instead of 0 in case of the DIY external-internal approach.
     
  7. rtrt, Nov 13, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2011
  8. lbeck thread starter macrumors 6502

    lbeck

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #8
    I like WD as well, currently I have the 2TB black's. Is the 3TB green the only one WD makes? Have you used it in your MP before?

    Why is it that apple's tech specs say it can only use a 2TB drive? Is there really a limit on the size of a drive you use?
     
  9. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #9
    It was the largest drive at the time they wrote the specifications. And when new hardware ships, they don't usually update that page to reflect the new value/s.
     

Share This Page