Laser Printer Suggestions that work with AirPort

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by MacAlpha, Feb 16, 2009.

1. MacAlpha macrumors regular

I am looking for suggestions for a good laser printer that someone can confirm will work flawlessly with an Airport Express. Having made the jump from the Windows world, I have a large Canon Multifunction that I used, but Canon does not make MacOS drivers for, which makes me a bit pissed at Canon but I would be willing to purchase another. I also have a high quality Epson photo printer which works with my Mac but printing word documents (I am a lawyer so I print a lot of long legal documents to read), is really expensive on the photo printer.

I started looking on the Apple website thinking that would be the best place to find printers that would work with Apple computers, but they have cheaper inkjets and then what seem to be commercial grade laser printers

Here are the features that I was looking for:
    - small footprint
    - duplex printing is a plus but not a requirement
    - works flawlessly with AirPort (I have had a lot of experience with network printing in the windows world and it never seems to work as advertised)
    - reasonably quick
    - black and white printing only
    - cheap to operate

Thanks in advance!

2. mreg376 macrumors 6502a

An excellent machine is the Brother HL-2170W. It is a small, high quality monochrome laser that has USB, ethernet and WiFi connectivity. You can find it in many places for under $100. I can't tell you specifically about the Express, but I have seen the HL-2170W being used very successfully with Macbooks through wireless-G routers.

3. MacAlpha thread starter macrumors regular

Thanks for the suggestion. I was looking at both the HL-2170W and the HL-5250DN, so it is good to know that other people have had success with using Brother with their Macs.

4. mreg376 macrumors 6502a