Last Min...??s bout the MBP

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by nasr91, Feb 22, 2010.

1. nasr91 macrumors newbie

Ok Guys,
    I have search the best I can. I am ready to buy (tax refund finally came in).
    The MBP 13 is what I am looking at. Please keep in mind Im not a techie and new to MAC products.

The questions are....Will I be able to run Firefox without issues (Sarfie is not compatible with my online classes). Will I be able to communcate easly with other computers (non mac) as in sending email pics and just email in general? Will sending word files to others?

This computer with be mostly for websurfing,email, chat forums,school (online classes) watching dvds and music. I dont play games other than solitaire. But I am online all the time.

Also I have noticed that if you buy from Bestbuy they are a better warrenty and they cover accidental as well and AppleCare does not. Can anyone say if there is a advantage or disadvage to buying from Bestbuy rather then Apple?

Any input would be great....Will be buying on Thusday.

Thanks Again

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

13" MBP will run FireFox flawlessly. Email also work without problems but for Word files you need iWork or Office (or OpenOffice).

3. ADigitalNative macrumors newbie

ADigitalNative

Yes, Firefox runs just fine on Macs, as does Opera. Google Chrome for Mac is also an option, though I'd give Google a few more months to iron out the kinks before switching.

Yes. Photographs are stored in formats that the major computers and operating systems can all read. In fact, I find I like Apple's Preview application (which is used for photographs as well as PDF documents, etc) far more than Microsoft Picture Viewer.