Last minute advice for Macbook Air

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by WillWest, Jul 6, 2012.

1. WillWest macrumors newbie

Hi everyone, so I'm a student and so I don't usely run heavy programms but I wanted my Macbook Air 13 (i5) to last 4/5 years..so would the 4go of RAM be enough or should I go with 8go ?? :confused:

2. HenryHealy macrumors member

DefInately go with 8 as it can't be upgraded later on.

3. Deeps macrumors regular

I would go with 8GB. Its not that much more in terms of £££.

4. G5isAlive macrumors 6502

4/5 years is an ambitious target to keep a laptop primarily known for its thin design, not for its powerhouse cpu. it will need all the help it can get. And as noted here, once you buy you can not upgrade the RAM.

Get the 8.

5. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

aznguyen316

Get the 8gb.

I plan on getting an MBA with 4gb, however I don't hang into my laptops for more than a year. Plus after using my gf air for a day keeping an eye on activity monitor with normal usage I was rarely above 2.5gb used with no page outs. I upgraded my pros to 8gb when possible though, but for 4 years absolutely 8gb ram. $100 is worth it in the long run of 4-5 years.

6. entatlrg macrumors 68040

entatlrg

Get the 8 FOR SURE ... it's a cheap upgrade and as time goes by you'll be so glad you have it ... you made not need it now, but what happens if in the future your computer usage changes and you need it.

7. eddjedi macrumors regular

It depends what you're using it for. I have a 2011 1.4ghz 11" MBA with 2GB RAM, and it is plenty fast enough for light use (internet etc.) In fact it does most things faster than my i7 iMac with 8GB RAM due to the SSD.

8. noteple macrumors 65816

While 4GB is ok today, it will be marginal tomorrow.

3-4 years is a lot of tomorrows.

I would upgrade to 8GB today and future proof yourself as much as possible for minimal cost.

9. JackHobbs macrumors regular

JackHobbs