Late 2006 iMac CPU upgradeability

Discussion in 'iMac' started by LOLZpersonok, Jun 24, 2014.

  1. LOLZpersonok macrumors 6502a

    LOLZpersonok

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #1
    Visiting the EveryMac website, I decided to find the full specifications for my late 2006 20" Core 2 Duo iMac, and it states that the CPU is in a ZIF socket, which means that the CPU can be taken out and potentially upgraded.

    My iMac is slow with the GPU being disabled due to a well-known defect existing in the 2006 Intel iMacs (and I think to some extent the 2006 MacBook Pros) and I feel if I could possibly upgrade the processor to an Intel Core 2 Quad, or at least a significantly faster Core 2 Duo it won't be as slow.

    I know, upgrading this model to a Core 2 Quad might sound very far fetched, but I want to know, do you think it is possible? Finding a Core 2 Quad that'll fit in the socket is one part, but the logic board must be compatible as well.
     
  2. LOLZpersonok thread starter macrumors 6502a

    LOLZpersonok

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
  3. khedden macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    #3
    I think the fastest compatible CPU with that motherboard is the T7600 Core 2 Duo at 2.33 GHz. Not worth it, IMO. It will be hard finding one for cheap, and it's not enough of a bump over what you already have.
     
  4. LOLZpersonok thread starter macrumors 6502a

    LOLZpersonok

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #4
    That's one of the Core 2 Duos that could've been configured with this iMac at the time of purchase, right?

    In this case, I guess I wouldn't bother with it then.
     
  5. khedden macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    #5
    It came out in the next models, in 2007. The reason is the FSB speed has to match so you are limited to the 667 MHz FSB chips. The Core 2 Quad and Extreme chips started at 1066 MHz FSB.
     
  6. LOLZpersonok thread starter macrumors 6502a

    LOLZpersonok

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #6
    Is there any way to modify the FSB speed, either by firmware hacks, software, or even soldering? If it's soldering, I won't even bother with it, and I'll just stick to the current processor in it.

    Do you think it's possible to overclock the current Core 2 Duo in my iMac? I don't remember if I mentioned it already, but it's one of the 2.16GHz models.
     
  7. khedden macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    #7
    Although it's possible to overclock the FSB on some motherboards, I'm not aware of anyone doing this on an imac. Same with the CPU.
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    It is not possible to overclock Intell Macs. Only some of the earlier Mac Pros and Intell Xserves can be overclocked by adjusting their FBUS.
     

Share This Page