Late 2008 MBP and Diablo III

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by insimbi, Apr 9, 2012.

  1. insimbi macrumors 6502

    insimbi

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    #1
    I saw a similar post about the MBA's being able to run Diablo III, so I thought I'd post here to inquire about my 2008 MBP.

    I've upgraded the RAM to 8GB and have recently installed a SSD. With the specs from 2008, do you think I'd be able to run Diablo III successfully?

    The video card specs are as follows:
    Graphics and video support
    15-inch MacBook Pro


    NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT graphics processor with dual-link DVI support; 256MB of GDDR3 memory on 2.4GHz configuration; 512MB of GDDR3 memory on 2.5GHz and 2.6GHz configurations
     
  2. insimbi thread starter macrumors 6502

    insimbi

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    #3
    Uh, thanks?
     
  3. JronMasteR macrumors 6502

    JronMasteR

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #4
    Here are the system requirements for the game:
    http://osxdaily.com/2012/03/20/diablo-3-system-requirements/

    I'm not sure if these are accurate though. The 8600GT is listed as the minimum required to run the game. But this is the desktop version. I don't think it'll run on a 8600M GT, sorry. And if it does, only on the very lowest settings.
     
  4. insimbi thread starter macrumors 6502

    insimbi

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    #5
    Hmm, I did some Googling and saw these specs on Nvidia's site. Although it shows up on the Minimum list, it is listed as supported.

    http://www.geforce.com/games-applications/pc-games/diablo-3/system-requirements
     
  5. JronMasteR macrumors 6502

    JronMasteR

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #6
  6. insimbi thread starter macrumors 6502

    insimbi

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    #7
    Yeah, I would like to play regardless, I don't need anything set to max. I just hope the settings on low wouldn't look to bad?
     
  7. JronMasteR macrumors 6502

    JronMasteR

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #8
    Well I can't tell you how it's going to look. But you would have to play it at 1024x768 I think, and that's not too good. Just wait until it's out and read some reviews.
     
  8. hajime macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #9
    From the recommended system requirements, it looks like the program may run well on a MBP (mid 2010) since it uses the GeForce GT 330M. Don't know if 512 VRAM is good enough though...
     

Share This Page